Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Academic Video Online (AVON): Diversity

Overview of the database with links to guides and tutorials
Diversity Studies Cover

Diversity gives access to hundreds of documentaries, interviews, biographies, performances, and lectures—which draw heavily on late 20th- and early 21st-century archival text and footage— to create a rich platform for examining social, racial, and economic inequalities that shape communities at the local and global levels. Content offers opportunities for cross-cultural comparisons and localized, in-depth analysis relevant to Asian studies, black studies, LGBT studies, North American Indian studies, disability studies, and women's studies.  The landing page for Diversity found at https://search.alexanderstreet.com/diversity cross searches the collections of Asian Film Online, Black Studies in Video, LGBT Studies in Video, and Women's Studies.  

Diversity, from Alexander Street, gives access to more than 3900 videos and 3100+ hours of video content  to support the study of Diversity

 

 

Browse Disability Studies Titles

Disability Studies

The content is essential for teaching and research—not only in the growing disciplines of disability history and disability studies, but also in history, media, the arts, political science, education, and other areas where the contributions of the disability community are typically overlooked.

Alexander Street Logo

Browse Asian Film Studies Titles

Browse Asian Titles

This resource offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of over 1,000 narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity. Such themes are central to any meaningful discussion of contemporary Asian culture and society.

 

Browse Black Studies Titles

Browse Black Studies Titles

This resource provides award-winning documentaries, newsreels, interviews and archival footage surveying the evolution of black culture in the United States. In partnership with California Newsreel, the database provides unique access to their African American Classics collection, and includes films covering history, politics, art and culture, family structure, social and economic pressures, and gender relations

Browse LGBT Studies Titles

Browse LGBT Studies

Users will find a cinematic survey of the lives of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender people as well as the cultural and political evolution of the LGBT community throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. Researchers will find award-winning documentaries, interviews, archival footage, and select feature films exploring LGBT history, gay culture and subcultures, civil rights, marriage equality, LGBT families, AIDS, transgender issues, religious perspectives on homosexuality, global comparative experiences, and other topics.

Browse Women's Studies Tiltes

Browse Women's Studies Titles

Women's Studies provides documentaries and films covering the study of gender, feminism, women’s history, media studies, and politics. Alexander Street's collections address issues of social justice, gender/sexual identity, political activism and are the focus and provide insight into the contributions of women to history, culture, and society.

Browse Diversity Titles