Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Reference & Current Events: About

A guide to all aspects of CBCA Reference & Current Events including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Subject Coverage

  • Canadian Business
  • Canadian Culture
  • Canadian Current Events
  • Canadian Literature
  • Language in Canada
  • Agriculture in Canada
  • Canadian History
  • Canadian Government
  • Canadian Politics

Publication Types

  • Scholarly Journals
  • Trade Journals
  • Newspapers
  • Magazines
  • Reports
  • Books
  • Wire Feeds
  • Blogs, Podcasts, & Websites
  • Other Sources (includes transcripts)

What is CBCA Reference & Current Events?

Canadian Business & Current Affairs (CBCA) Reference & Current Events provides in-depth access to a wide diversity of Canadian periodicals, ranging from academic titles to special interest publications to general magazines. The academic titles include the most prominent journals from the social sciences, humanities, and sciences. Other magazines focus on opinion, public policy, children/youth, lifestyles, arts and culture, health, regional concerns, etc.

In-depth and Detailed Focus on Canada

CBCA on ProQuest® creates synergy between ProQuest and ProQuest electronic database products while taking advantage of the functionality of the ProQuest Web interface. Clients are able to cross-database search CBCA Reference & Current Events with Canadian Newsstand™ (a very powerful combination for the retrieval of Canadian information), or search CBCA with any of the ProQuest databases (e.g. ABI/INFORM®, ProQuest Newsstand™ or ProQuest Research Library™), dependant on their research topic.

Search Features & Functionality

  • Past and current content—CBCA is updated daily with full-text content (1988 to present) and bibliographic content (1972 to present). Fully searchable abstracts are available for all full-text articles.
  • Seamless cross-database searching—Allows users to retrieve Canadian information across all ProQuest databases, including Canadian Newsstand.

CBCA Reference & Current Events is for:

  • Academic libraries - Canadian-sourced scholarly and professional journals for researchers and students
  • Public libraries – Canadian general interest and reference materials including magazines
  • School and K-12 libraries – Multicultural and full text materials for students that cover Canadian issues and topics
  • Special libraries – Daily updates of content and wirefeeds that bring timely news from Canadian sources

Please note that CBCA Reference & Current Events is also a component of ProQuest Central. Subscribers of ProQuest Central have access to 30 ProQuest databases including CBCA.

Selection Policy

CBCA Reference & Current Events is a long-standing reference resource to Canadian periodicals with a broad selection policy.  The first priority of CBCA is to provide content from Canadian publishers in full text for optimal research and teaching utility and across many subjects and disciplines. Every attempt is made to provide full-text access to the content.  If full-text rights are not available, the title is indexed by our editors with abstracts and subject terms applied for discoverability.

Criteria used in selection of materials for inclusion are: 

  1.         Publisher is based in Canada
  2.         Content covers Canadian topics and subjects
  3.         Content is suitable for academic research or for consumer interest
  4.         Availability of full text rights
  5.         If full-text rights are not available, the title is of sufficient importance to index with abstracts

ProQuest Platform Videos

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: