Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Fold3 Library Edition: World War I

Fold3 Library Edition by Ancestry provides convenient access to a growing collection of US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. It contains millions of records from world-class archives.

Where to search

World War I records may be searched within Fold3 Library Edition in a number of ways:

  1. The Home and Search tabs allow you to search across all data collections in Fold3 Library Edition, including World  War I records by First Name and Last Name.
  2. From the Home Search page or the Search tab search page, locate and click on World War I found in the lower center page to Search by name, Browse Popular, New & Updated records or Browse all World War I of Titles.
  3. Select "Popular" located under World War I to browse or search the most viewed records and narrow your search to only these types of records.
  4. Select "New and Updated" located under the World War I  search box to browse or search newly added or newly updated records and narrow your search to only these records.
  5. Locate and click on World War I in the main Search box to search all records by First Name and Last Name, or access Advanced search options by clicking the Search icon.

World War I

This collection includes Navy Casualty Records, 1776 - 1941.  Reports were prepared by the U.S. Navy. They are arranged by casualty type - drowning, enemy action, aviation accidents, shipwreck - and presented chronologically. Most reports present the circumstances in detail with name and rank of sailor; others are lists of names, with rank, date of casualty, and location (ship or station). Wars covered include Revolutionary War, War of 1812, Civil War, World War I, and others.  The collection also includes US Army Military Registers, 1798 - 1969 for officers who served in the United States Army. The amount of information differs by publication, but typically includes rank, date of commission, former commissions, when they entered service, and where they were born. The pages are OCR searchable, and some include indexes at the back of the book. Note that the officers are those who served in the U.S. Army, and not in state regiments.