Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Fold3 Library Edition: World War II

Fold3 Library Edition by Ancestry provides convenient access to a growing collection of US military records, including the stories, photos, and personal documents of the men and women who served. It contains millions of records from world-class archives.

Where to search

World War II records may be searched within Fold3 Library Edition in a number of ways:

  1. The Home and Search tabs allow you to search across all data collections in Fold3 Library Edition, including World War II records by First Name and Last Name.
  2. From the Home Search page or the Search tab search page, locate and click on World War II found in the lower center page to Search by name, Browse Popular, New & Updated records or Browse all World War II Titles.
  3. Select "Popular" located under World War II to browse or search the most viewed records and narrow your search to only these types of records.
  4. Select "New and Updated" located under the World War II search box to browse or search newly added or newly updated records and narrow your search to only these records.
  5. Locate and click on World War II in the main Search box to search all records by First Name and Last Name, or access Advanced search options by clicking the Search icon.

World War II Records

This collection included records from The American Battle Monuments Commission.  (ABMC) manages 24 overseas military cemeteries, and 25 memorials, monuments, and markers. The cemeteries and memorials honor those who served in World War I, World War II, and the Korean War. Search for names from the honor rolls. Information presented includes service information, dates of birth and death, and notes which relate to the circumstances of death, status, and awards received.  The collection also includes US Army Military Registers, 1798 - 1969 for officers who served in the United States Army. The amount of information differs by publication, but typically includes rank, date of commission, former commissions, when they entered service, and where they were born. The pages are OCR searchable, and some include indexes at the back of the book.