Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

SIRS Government Reporter: About

SIRS Government Reporter delivers full-text documents, summaries and graphics concerning a wide variety of topics: health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, business and industry. Articles and graphics are editorially selected.

Subjects Covered

  • Arts & Humanities
  • Domestic Affairs
  • Federal Procedures
  • International Affairs
  • Military Affairs
  • Scientific Research

Publication Types

  • Newspapers
  • Magazines
  • Reference
  • Government Documents
  • Primary Sources
  • Multimedia / Statistics
  • Websites

Federal Agency Directory

National Archives Documents

 

What is SIRS Government Reporter?

SIRS® Government Reporter is a comprehensive student resource for the study of all aspects of U.S.federal government. It contains thousands of full-text documents, summaries, and graphics covering a wide variety of topics including health, science, economics, environment, politics, foreign affairs, business, and industry.

 

All the articles and graphics in SIRS Government Reporter are carefully selected according to strict SIRS criteria for content reliability, relevance, and age-appropriateness. Titles include: Agricultural Research, All Hands, Background Notes, English Teaching Forum, FBI Law Enforcement Bulletin, Juvenile Justice Bulletin, Mariners Weather Log, NCI Cancer Bulletin, Nutrition Insights, Prologue, and State Magazine.

 

Users can easily retrieve information by subject heading, topic browse, and keyword searches. The articles are indexed by Library of Congress subject headings to ensure the best results and can be printed, saved, and emailed.

 

SIRS® Government Reporter provides schools with compelling learning resources for extending and reinforcing student achievement at all levels. All articles and graphics are carefully selected according to strict SIRS criteria with regard to content reliability, relevance, and appropriateness—making this the perfect complement to our SIRS® and eLibrary® reference tools.  Government Reporter is updated daily and made available online through SIRS ® Knowledge Source.

SIRS® Government Reporter is your single source for current and historic government documents; Supreme Court decisions; information about elected leaders, and more.

 

Product Features & Benefits

R E S O U R C E S

Editor's Top Pick | Federal Agencies Directory | National Archives Documents | U.S. Supreme Court Documents | Spotlight of The Month 

C O N T E N T

100% Full-Text | Editorial Summaries  | Lexile Reading levels | 9700+ Government Documents & Publications |2,000+ Sources | Library of Congress Subject Indexing

F E A T U R E S

Standards Alignment (including Common Core Standards) | Daily updating | Article Text to Speech & MP3 Files | Language Translation | Citation Generator | Export to EasyBib | Save to Google Drive | Add to Google Classroom

 

 

Widgets

logo

Curriculum Guides

SIRS continues to 'Take Aim' at critical research skills by providing Curriculum Guides focused on writing logical arguments, analyzing statistics, practicing critical thinking in research, working with and identifying primary sources, technically analyzing infographics, and interpreting messages in editorial cartoons.

Updates

Training Videos

Newly updated training videos coming in September.  For training on the new SIRS Issues Researcher, sign up for a "Live Webinar" below.