Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Music and Dance Online: Listening

An overview of Music and Dance Online from Alexander Street

Music Online: Listening is the most comprehensive and highest quality streaming audio collection to support the teaching and research of music.  It currently provides academic libraries with streaming access to over 10 million tracks, and is growing monthly as new recordings are added.  It provides coverage in breadth and depth across all the key musical genres including exclusive and rare content: 

  • Classical: All major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.
  • Jazz: All major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band, modern jazz, and more.
  • World: Music from 169 countries and over 1,000 cultural groups.
  • American: Country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape note singing.
  • Popular: Wide range of popular music from around the world that is not available in our genre-specific collections.

 

Access all listening content at: https://search.alexanderstreet.com/musp

FEATURED PLAYLIST:

AMI's 10 Classical Works Everyone Should Know

This playlist is based on the American Musical Institute's list of 10 Classical Works Everyone Should Know (http://amimusic.org/classical-music-appreciation-10-works-everyone-know/). With this list, you can listen to the albums, check out the scores, and watch live performances of the pieces!

FEATURED PLAYLIST:

The Golden Age of Hip-Hop

Featuring the pioneers of hip-hop and rap from the 1980s through early 1990s, including Public Enemy, The Beastie Boys, Eric B. & Rakim, Queen Latifah, Snoop Dogg, and Salt-n-Pepa.

FEATURED PLAYLIST:

Nevermind: The Seattle Grunge Scene

Hammerbox, Nirvana, Love Battery, Mother Love Bone, Soundgarden, Temple of the Dog - this playlist features the key grunge bands from Seattle in the mid-1980s to 1990s. The playlist includes Nirvana’s Nevermind and MTV Unplugged in New York, a recording of the band’s live acoustic concert on MTV, which debuted at No. 1 on Billboard seven months after the death of Kurt Cobain.

FEATURED PLAYLIST:

Cream of the Crop: Motown Legends

Featuring hits from the 1950s-1970s by artists such as Diana Ross, Michael Jackson, Stevie Wonder, The Temptations and Marvin Gaye.

Browse Smithsonian Global Sound® Content

Smithsonian Global Sound®

produced in partnership with Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, contains a virtual encyclopedia of the world's musical and aural traditions.

Classical Music Library

all major genres and time periods from medieval to contemporary, from choral works to symphonies, operas, and the avant-garde.

Browse Contemporary World Music Library Content

Contemporary World Music Library

Music from 169 countries and over 1,000 cultural groups.

Browse American Music Content

American Music

Country, folk, jazz, bluegrass, Western, old time, American Indian, blues, gospel, R&B, and shape note singing.

Browse Jazz Music Library Content

Jazz Music Library

All major genres including vocal jazz, bebop, acid jazz, big band, modern jazz, and more.

Browse Popular Music Library Titles

Popular Music Library

wide range of popular music from around the world, including hundreds of thousands of tracks from major genres in pop music:  alternative, country, Christian, electronic, hip-hop, metal, punk, new age, R&B, reggae, rock, soundtracks and many more.

 

 

Alexander Street Music Online homepage showing where to search and browse Alexander Street audio player screenshot