Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Music and Dance Online: Reference

An overview of Music and Dance Online from Alexander Street

 

  

Music Online: Reference brings together a variety of essential music reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database

  • The largest online collection of musical scores and reference works available anywhere.
  • The most comprehensive collection of materials for the study of music, covering every time period, genre, cultural group, and geographic region.
  • The highest quality content—the world's best record labels, artists, and recordings.

Includes the full collections of:

Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music
Music Online: Classical Scores Library
African-American Music Reference
Classical Music Reference Library
Music Online: Music Periodicals of the 19th Century 

 

Access all reference content from Music and Dance Online: https://search.alexanderstreet.com/muro

Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music

Browse Scores

Music Online: Classical Scores Library

Browse African American Music Titles

African-American Music Reference

Classical Music Reference Library

Browse Music Online: Music Periodicals of the 19th Century Content

 Music Online: Music Periodicals of the 19th Century

Browse Music Online: Garland Encyclopedia of World Music Content

Music Online: The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music is the first comprehensive online resource devoted to music research of all the world’s peoples. More than 9,000 pages of material and 300 audio recordings, combined with entries by more than 700 expert contributors from all over the world, make this the most complete body of work focused on world music.

  • The full-text of the ten-volume print encyclopedia (more than 700 articles) searchable all together for the first time
  • Associated audio examples
  • Musical illustrations, photographs, and drawings
  • Song texts and score examples
  • Charts and maps of world regions

 

Browse Music Online Classical Scores Content

Music Online: Classical Scores Library  is the largest and most authoritative resource of in-copyright scores to support teaching and research in classical music. This multivolume series contains more than 51,000 titles and 1.3 million printable pages of the most important scores in classical music, ranging from the Middle Ages to the 21st century and more that 4,600 composers. 

  • Volume I contains more than 400,000 pages of the most important classical music scores and manuscripts ever written from classical music’s most studied composers.
  • Volume II provides 200,000 pages of scores: new works from contemporary composers, composers not represented in the first volume, and alternative editions of many of music’s most studied compositions.
  • Volume III provides 400,000 pages of in-copyright editions from composers worldwide with coverage of great choral works and instrumental scores for brass, woodwind, and other instrument groups.  
  • Volume IV  focuses on canonical contemporary composers from the 20th and 21st centuries, and will provide 300,000 pages of scores. 

 

African-American Music Reference is a comprehensive reference database that chronicles the rich history of African-American music through 1970.

The database offers the first comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression - and the only electronic access to this coverage. Resources include biographies, anthologies, encyclopedias, images, lyrics (digitized and fully searchable), song sheets, chronologies, critical textbooks, a comprehensive discography of the top African-American artists, and links to editorially selected Web resources.

  • Full text from major reference works.
  • Personal narratives from oral histories and interviews.
  • Manuscripts, songsheets, lyrics, discography data, and other text sources.

 

Classical Music Reference Library brings together a variety of essential reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music, which are available for the first time in electronic form.

  • Biographical information on major composers and artists.

  • Score and lyric excerpts, plus musical and notational terms.

  • Photographs and images of people, instruments, and ensembles.

 

Browse Music Online Music Periodicals of the 19th Century Content  Music Online: Music Periodicals of the 19th Century is a collection of full-text periodicals depicting American musical life from 1838 to the early 1900s through local and international news, reviews, editorials, sheet music, and advertisements. More than 200,000 pages of material will be available for research on the Alexander Street multimedia platform – the only resource that allows users to cross-search the full text of all articles with videos, audio recordings, photographs, scores, and reference texts.