Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

ProQuest One Literature

Criticism

ProQuest One Literature includes 20,000 sources of historic literary criticism cover 17th through 21st century authors.

Find historic literary criticism by selecting Content Type Criticism on Basic search. You can also select the Content Type Criticism or the Criticism search page on Advanced search.

Criticism (ABELL + CUP)

Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 1920- (ABELL)

ABELL, which can be accessed via the ABELL tab on the Search Criticism page, contains more than 900,000 records covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world; unpublished doctoral dissertations are covered for the period 1920-1999. The bibliography consists of 80 volumes, beginning in 1920 and issued annually; a number of items published between 1892 and 1919 have been indexed retrospectively.

All aspects and periods of English literature are covered, from Anglo-Saxon times to the present day. British, American and Commonwealth writing are all represented. Coverage is international, including scholarly material in languages other than English.

ABELL is compiled under the auspices of the Modern Humanities Research Association (MHRA) by an international team of editors, contributors and academic advisors. It has been published in book form since 1920, and ProQuest publish the electronic version in both CD-ROM and web format. While the print volume and CD-ROM instalments are published annually, new bibliographic records are added to the monthly updates of Literature Online in advance of their appearance in the annual versions.

Bibliographic experts have long agreed that ABELL is an essential tool for the literary scholar, and have stressed its coverage of unique material that is not included in other bibliographic sources. Visit the MHRA website for more information on ABELL.


New Essays on the American Novel

In addition to the full-text journals collection, Literature Online's Criticism resources include thirty-eight volumes of the Cambridge University Press series New Essays on the American Novel. Users can access these in a number of ways: via links from Author Pages to Criticism resources, by searching in Search Criticism, where the essays are mapped to records from ABELL, or by browsing the contents of each volume using the relevant Criticism browse option.

Historic Literary Criticism

Historic Literary Criticism is a collection of over 20,000 historical contemporary reviews, essays and commentary related to more than 500 influential authors from the 17th to the early 20th century. The content comes from a range of sources such as contemporary periodicals as well as published and unpublished letters. The cornerstone of the collection comes from the renowned Critical Heritage series from Routledge.

These historical documents and essays allow readers to contextualise some of the most important authors in order to investigate how contemporary critics assessed their works. The provision of the historical literary context allows researchers at all levels, but particularly undergraduates, to place authors and texts into a full historical critical environment, allowing them to understand how contemporary reviewers and peers viewed texts when they were first published. The ability to historicise texts is a key requirement for undergraduate literature students.