Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

ProQuest One Literature

Diverse Voices

ProQuest One Literature includes 150,000 hard-to-find primary texts from lesser known writers beyond the Western canon.

Use Basic search or Advanced search to find authors and Author pages. On the Basic search page you can browse the carousel of frequently viewed authors. You can also browse authors by Literary Period, Literary Movement and Author Name

World Literature Collection

The world of Literature mapped in all its diversity and depth – more than 70,000 texts by authors of over 65 nationalities from Germany to Jamaica and Venezuela to Vietnam – the non-Anglophone literary canon assembled for the first time online.

Build upon the 1,000 years of established Anglophone literary tradition with works in Spanish, French, Dutch and Papiamento (to name a few) including texts in native languages and frequently in English for easy analysis.

The collection provides an exciting look at the interplay of literary traditions where influences as disparate as the Mahabharata and Charles Dickens are evident in the same piece, such as The Tamarind Tree, by Romen Basu. Postmodern literary techniques help tell ancient stories, and contemporary political parables are teased out of classic epics from the oral tradition. Some authors use formal English, while others play with the boundaries of language, merging English prefixes with local words or phrases, or writing English in the cadences of local languages.

Benefits

Rich in sociological and historical significance, the literary texts in this collection are the writings of place, gender, and race. Students and scholars can explore works that have previously not been available, such as:

  • Find the origins of Anglophone literary tropes in the complete writings of Goethe, Schiller, Cervantes or de Vega.
  • Explore never-before-published works of various teatros created in the late 1960s and early 1970s, such as El Teatro Desengaño del Pueblo and El Teatro Chicano de Austin, along with never-before-heard audio tapes.
  • Discover Indian writer and composer Bankim Chandra Chatterjee’s national song in translation alongside his novel Rajmohan’s Wife (1864); the first novel in English published by an Indian, a host of reference and critical articles and works of contemporaries such as Tagore.

Black Writing Collection

The most inclusive library of Black writing ever assembled: over 70,000 poems, plays, prose works, ephemera, and fugitive texts by over 4,000 authors from more than 50 countries. These works represent the most important as well as the most forgotten voices. Available on the ProQuest platform for the first time, the collection encompasses over 500,000 pages of rare, out-of-print and in-demand works to explore every facet of the African, Caribbean and African Diasporic experience from the 18th century to the present day.

The Black Writing Collection permits unprecedented access to hundreds of thousands of unheard Black voices from around the world.With more modules added each year, the Collection only gets more indispensable.

Benefits

As literary studies grows increasingly interdisciplinary and with researchers needing to explore more consistently beyond the boundaries of traditional sources, Black Writing offers unprecedented opportunities to improve research with the inclusion of rare and ephemeral voices.

  • Analyse the earliest expressions of Black writers from influential periodicals such as The Afro-American right up to the present day.
  • Discover Jamaica’s first Poet Laureate Thomas MacDermot’s Becka’s Buckra Baby (1904), considered to mark the beginning of modern Caribbean writing, and access his complete works in one place for the first time.
  • Appreciate lesser known figures in the Harlem Renaissance movement such as Georgia Douglas Johnson and Nella Larsen.
  • Understand the complex development of global black feminism through works by Maya Angelou, Sonia Sanchez and Bessie Head
  • Explore the origins and cultural influences of fables and folktales from Africa and the African diaspora.

African Writers Series

The Heinemann African Writers Series (AWS) was founded in 1962. The initial aim was to produce a paperback series featuring writing by African authors (initially, this was limited to black African authors) that would be affordable for a general African readership. As African nations won independence, writers began to forge distinctive national literatures throughout the continent. Independence also led to a demand from African schools and universities for contemporary African writing to replace the European bias of existing syllabuses. The AWS took on this role and published work by all the major authors of this period, together with classic earlier texts and new writing, giving the series a unique importance in African cultural history.

The publication of this historic collection in online form restores access to a substantial body of literature, much of which is out of print and only accessible in specialist research libraries, opening up new possibilities for scholarship and teaching in the fields of African and literary studies.

Twentieth Century Drama

Twentieth-Century Drama contains the essential collection of published plays from throughout the English-speaking world, covering the history of modern drama from the 1890s to the present day. The collection's contents range from canonical authors such as George Bernard Shaw, Langston Hughes, Sean O'Casey, Noël Coward, Eugene O'Neill, Harold Pinter, Neil Simon, Tom Stoppard and Thornton Wilder, to off-Broadway experimentation and South African township theatre.

No other electronic collection offers such diversity: Twentieth-Century Drama is a truly global collection, containing an extensive collection of play texts by over 300 principal authors from North America and Canada, Britain and Ireland, India, Africa, Australia and the Caribbean. The collection's breadth of content and powerful search options allow users to open up connections between classic plays such as Bernard Shaw's Saint Joan (1923), Thornton Wilder's Our Town (1938), August Wilson's Ma Rainey's Black Bottom (1984), David Mamet's Speed-the-Plow (1987), Harold Pinter's The Homecoming (1965) or Brian Friel's Dancing at Lughnasa (1990) and less well-known texts drawn from the full range of modern theatrical traditions. Areas such as postcolonial writing, women's theatre, and community theatre are given full representation, and Naturalist, Expressionist and absurdist works appear alongside popular comedies, melodramas, farces and thrillers. Full details of the works in the collection are given in the bibliography. 

Twentieth-Century American Poetry, second edition

Twentieth-Century American Poetry, Second Edition is an essential collection of poetry which allows readers an unparalleled survey of the movements, schools and distinctive voices of modern and contemporary American poetry. It combines two existing Literature Collections, Twentieth-Century American Poetry and Twentieth-Century African American Poetry, with over 500 volumes of newly-licensed material from established and emergent poets. The collection contains over 100,000 poems representing the full range of American poetry of the last century, from the major Modernist works of Ezra Pound, William Carlos Williams and Djuna Barnes to the contemporary works of Robinson Jeffers, Billy Collins, Elinor Wylie and Peter Gizzi.

Major movements of the century are represented, including the Black Mountain School of Charles Olson and Robert Duncan, the Deep Image poetry of Robert Bly and James Wright, underground literature by the Beat poets, The New York School of John Ashbery, Clark Coolidge and Denise Levertov, the influential feminist works of Adrienne Rich and the works of the confessional poets. Short-lived but significant movements, such as Vorticism, Objectivism and Concrete poetry are also included.

The most important and influential African American poets of the twentieth century are included in the collection. Key writers such as Georgia Douglas Camp Johnson, Langston Hughes, Jean Toomer and Imamu Amiri Baraka and Maya Angelou are featured alongside a considerable body of writing by young and emergent poets of the 1980s and 1990s who have gained recognition through national poetry awards or inclusion within leading print anthologies. This collection is significantly augmented by the further inclusion of ethnic poetic voices from the Chicano, Asian-American and Native-American communities such as Lorna Dee Cervantes, Tomas Rivera and Li-Young Lee.