Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

UK Newsstand: ProQuest Results

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest UK Newsstand including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform

Results Page Tips

1. Modify Search

Click Modify search to make changes to your current search strategy. Or make changes to your search in the search box.

2. Recent Searches and Selected Items

Click Recent searches to view your search history. You can also view your search history by clicking on the Clock icon at the top of the main navigation bar. 

If you select any items during your search session, those Selected items will be stored in the Folder icon that is accessible from the main navigation bar (next to the Clock icon). 

3. Find Ebooks for Your Search

If your organization has access to ebooks on the EBook Central platform, you can choose to search those books alongside your ProQuest platform databases. When selecting the databases to search from the main database list within the ProQuest platform, choose Ebook Central. If you search strategy matches up to any ebooks available in your EBook Central collection, this tab will display those books. You can then click on a book and you will then be taken to the book in Ebook Central. 

4. Search Within

Use the Search within to run a search within the current results. Add additional keywords and ProQuest will look for the keywords in the set of current search results. Selecting Search within toggles you to the bottom of the search results page.

5. Cite, Email, Print, Save & Save Search/Alert

For any results that you may have selected, use one of the tools to work with the selected items. Select items individually or select all items on the page.

The Cite tool generates a bibliography in any of the supported styles available from the pull-down menu. Copy and paste the generated bibliography into a document and make any necessary edits. Remember to always check for accuracy.

Your library administrator can customize the list of styles that display in the drop-down menu through the ProQuest Administrator Module. You can override those settings within your My Research account. Visit the My Research tab in this guide to learn how you can create an account. 

Email or Print any selected records.

Save to My Research adds the records to your My Research account where they will be stored and available each time you sign in to the My Research account.

Save records to a bibliographic manager like RefWorks or New RefWorks (subscription and account required). Exporting moves a copy of the record out of ProQuest and into one of the bibliographic managers or supported file formats. You can also save records to EasyBib, HTML, PDF, RIS, RTF, Text Only, or XLS. 

View Selected lets you view your selected records list.

Save search/alert feature 

Use the Save search option to save the search strategy to your My Research account. If you are not signed in, you will be prompted to sign in. If you don’t have an account you can sign up for one here too. For more information on My Research please see the My Research page of this guide.

Create alert sets up an email alert that you schedule and when new records are added to the database that match your search criteria, the records will be emailed to you.

Create RSS feed sets up an RSS feed on the search strategy. Take the URL that is generated and put it into your RSS reader to begin pulling in records.

Get search link generates a persistent/durable URL to the current search strategy. This link expires one year from the day you created the link. 

In addition to using these features from the Results page, they can also be used from the Selected items list and through the Folder icon. 

6. Sort 

The Sort menu controls the sort order of the records that appear in the results page. Sort by relevance, oldest first (publication date), or most recent first (publication date). These are the most common sort options, but others are available depending on the databases you are searching. Relevance is the default sort order, but your administrator can choose a different default order. Relevance is determined by an algorithm that factors in the number of time your search terms appear in the record as well as where in the record your search terms appear.

7. Narrow Results

Use the Narrow results feature to apply additional limits (also known as filters or facets) to refine your results. The limits are pulled from the list of available indexed/searchable fields that appear in the current result set. Some of the main limits you can expect to find (each search and database is different so you can expect different limits to display) include source, publication title, subject, language, and date. Please see the Searchable fields page of this guide to see a list of the common indexed/searchable fields. For a list of database specific searchable fields, please see the applicable database LibGuide.

8. Source Type Icon

Hover over the Source type icon for the source type of the document. For more details such as a list of all source types available in your results and the amount of each source type, see Source type in the Narrow Results panel on the left side of the results page.

9. Preview

Click on the Preview link to display a preview of the record and view the major fields of the record including the abstract and subjects. See the additional Preview screenshot to the right.

10. Document Formats and Linking

Each record will contain links to the available document formats and possibly any linking tools that the library administrator has enabled to help locate the full text. Please consider that not all records have full text available from ProQuest and you may only have a link to view the Abstract/Details (the full record). If your library has enabled tools to locate full text for you, you may see additional links on the Abstract/Details page.

11. Other Searches to Try

Other searches to try displays related and suggested subjects that you may consider searching on if you find that you are dissatisfied with your current search results. The suggested subjects are related to your current keywords and pull directly from the subject field.

12. Navigation and Items Per Page

Navigate to the other pages in your set of results by selecting the page number or the next page navigation.

Items per page is used to select how many results will display on the results page. Choose from 10, 20, 50, or 100 items.

Results Page

ProQuest Platform Results Page

Preview

ProQuest Platform Record Preview