Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

American Film Institute Catalog (AFI): Searchable Fields

Authoritative filmographic database

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

AFI Catalog offers nine (9) Look ups (i.e., browsable indexes), so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or publication subject. You can find the Look up links in the Advanced Search page and they are available for the following searchable fields:

  • Cast
  • Characters
  • Companies/organizations
  • Countries
  • Crew
  • Directors
  • People
  • Production titles
  • Subject headings (all)

For a description of these fields, please see the Searchable Fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search page (through the Look up terms link located on the right side of the page).

To use and locate a Look up, select the field from the Advanced Search drop-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up (e.g., Look up Authors).  Look ups for Cast, Company/organization, Crew, Director, Subject headings, are listed in the More search options section of the Advanced Search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field.  There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.  You may select multiple items by checking the box next to each, then selecting either the AND or the OR Boolean operator radio button prior to clicking the Search button.

Search Limiters

Use the ABANY limiter to single out the Documents containing a Synopsis. Add ABANY(yes) in one of the Advanced Search boxes, or add it to the search using the link "Search within" in the Results page. Combine it with an AND to the main search to include only Film records with a Synopsis.

AFI Production Genre Definitions

See how to search the field Production Genre in the Searchable Fields box on the right. Here below the list of terms used to index the Production Genre in this field:

  • Adventure‎
  • Allegory‎
  • Anthology‎
  • Biography‎
  • Black comedy‎
  • Children's works‎
  • Comedy‎
  • Comedy-drama‎
  • Documentary‎
  • Drama‎
  • Epic‎
  • Experimental‎
  • Fantasy‎
  • Film noir‎
  • Horror‎
  • Melodrama‎
  • Musical‎
  • Musical comedy‎
  • Mystery‎
  • Performance‎
  • Romance‎
  • Romantic comedy‎
  • Satire‎
  • Science fiction‎
  • Screwball comedy‎
  • Swashbuckler‎
  • Variety‎
  • Western‎

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract (Synopsis)

AB

ab(consigliere)

The Abstract field contains the film’s Synopsis.

Anywhere

 

Enter keyword(s) without a field code label to search the entire record

On the Advanced Search page, enter search terms or phrases, using “double quotation marks” for two or more word phrases and (parentheses) to nest, and select the “Anywhere” from drop-down menu to the right of the search box.

This is the way of searching such sections of the record as:  Production details - Credits: Credit - Document note - Supplemental data (magazine reviews)

Alternative Title

ATI

ATI(“Mario Puzo's The Godfather”)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the Alternative Title of the film or the entire Alternative Title

Cast

CAST

cast.Exact("Pacino, Al")

Searches the name of the Actor (Cast>Name)

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Character

CHR

chr.Exact("Connie Corleone Rizzi")

Searches the name of Character (Cast>Role)

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Companies/Organizations

ORG

org("Paramount Pictures Corp.")

Production company

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Country of Publication

CP

CP("United States")

Use this field to focus the search on movies produced in a specific Country.

Country of Production. Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Crew

CREW

crew("Mabuchi, Kaoru")

Searches the name of a Crew member (Credits >Name)

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Director

DIRECTOR

director.Exact("Coppola, Francis Ford")

Search the name of the film Director.

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Document Note

NT

NT(Sergio Leone)

Searches the Document Note text of the record

Document Number

AN

AN(1746235410)

Searches the ProQuest document ID.

Document Type

DType

DType(Film)

In this database the Document Type is always Film.

Language

LA

La(English)

The great majority of the films are in English Language. Other languages than English are also covered

Location - subject

LOC

loc("Sicily Italy")

Use to search for the location of the film.  Can be a country and a region or a town. There can be more than one location in the same film.

Person

PER

per("Selznick, David O.")

In this database this field includes all the fields with single persons names: Cast, Crew, Director, Producer.

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Producer

PRODUCER

PRODUCER("Rosenberg, Tom")

Searches the name of individual producer.

Production genre

PGR

pgr("Drama")

Use to search for the Film Production Genre: check the box on the Left for a full list of definitions working with this field

Production Title

PTI

PTI(“The Godfather”)

PTI(“Mario Puzo's The Godfather”)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the film or the entire title. Includes also the Alternative Title.

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the title

Publication Date

PD

PD(Dec 17, 1969)

PD(Dec)

Use this field to search for dates of World release. 

Publication Subject

JSU

JSU(“Motion Pictures”)

In this database the Publication Subject is always Motion Pictures.

Publication Title

PUB

pub("American Film Institute Catalog")

In this database the Publication Title is always American Film Institute Catalog

Publication Year

PY

PY(1978)

PY(1914-1951)

Use a single year or series of years (separated by a hyphen) to search for all the films released during that year or that course of years.

Source Type

STYPE

stype(Artistic & Aesthetic Works)

In this database the Source Type is always Artistic & Aesthetic Works

Subject headings (all)

SU

Su.exact("Gang wars")

Use this field to look for a specific subject. A search for the subject heading “gang”, will find films with the subjects-- gangs, gang wars, chain gangs, etc. To run an exact subject search where only “gang wars” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain alternative terms, search using EXACT. Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the subject terms

Title

TI

TI(“The Godfather”)

TI(“Mario Puzo's The Godfather”)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the film or the entire title. Includes also the Alternative Title.

Year

YR

YR(1978)

YR(1914-1951)

Use a single year or series of years (separated by a hyphen) to search for all the films released during that year or that course of years.