Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

African American Biographical Database: Browsable Indexes

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest's African American Biographical Database including content, searching, and viewing results.

Browsable Indexes Tips

African American Biographical Database offers six browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, a person's name or a source title. You can find the browsable index buttons in search pages next to the applicable search field. 

In the Profile Search page indexes are available for the following searchable fields: Name, State/Country, City/County, and Source.  

In the Full Text Search page the All Keyword field offers a browsable index. 

To use a browsable index, click the BROWSE button and either enter all or part of a term or name, or use the scrolling box and navigation buttons to browse the available content of the index. 

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, click to highlight the item (hold the CTRL key on your keyboard to select multiple terms), and then click the OK button. The index term/s will now appear in the search form in the appropriate search field.

Note: Multiple terms will automatically be joined with the Boolean operator OR, which you may change to AND or NOT by clicking in the search field, deleting the OR, and entering the desired operator.

Browsable Indexes - Full Text Search

Browsable Indexes - Profile Search

Name Index - Displays the list of indexed names or authors and subjects of biographies and publications as they were printed. 

State/Country Index - Displays the list of indexed locations found in biographies and publications. Note that U.S. states are indexed by their modern acronym (e.g., Pennsylvania is listed as PA).

City/County Index - Displays the list of indexed city and county names as they appear in the biographies and publications.

Source Index - Displays the list of indexed sources found in this database.