Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

African American Biographical Database: View Sources & Table of Contents

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest's African American Biographical Database including content, searching, and viewing results.

View Sources Tips

How do I get there?

You can access the Biographical Sources page by selecting View Sources on the Home Page, the hyperlinked book title on the Full Text Toolbar, or a book icon in the Profile. You can also return to the Biographical Sources page from any Table of Contents page.

Where can I go from there?

From the Biographical Sources page, you can use the Toolbar to move to the Profile Search or the Full Text Search, open a context-sensitive Help page and consult general information about the database.

What can I do there?

The Biographical Sources Page lists bibliographic information for each source in AABD. Sources are listed alphabetically by title. When available the title, author, publisher, date published, and place published are listed for each source.

A menu at the top helps you navigate the page. Each letter links to the group of sources beginning with that letter.

Next to each source, the Table of Contents icon  links to the Table of Contents for that source. From the Table of Contents, you can access the Full Text.

Table of Contents pages

How do I get there?

You can access the Table of Contents page by selecting the Table of Contents icon  corresponding to a particular source on the Biographical Sources Page.

Where can I go from there?

From the Table of Contents page, you can use the Toolbar to move to the Profile Search or the Full Text Search, open a context-sensitive Help page and consult general information about AABD. You can also return to the Biographical Sources page.

What can I do there?

The Table of Contents Page lists the table of contents as it appears in its source. Each section heading is hyperlinked to the first page of that section in the Full Text, allowing you to browse the book. The title of the source is hyperlinked to the first page of the book.

View Sources Page

Table of Contents View