Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Ancestry Library Edition: About

Ancestry® Library Edition, distributed exclusively by ProQuest and powered by Ancestry.com, delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more from countries all over the world.

What's New

New Collection Alert!  ​Ancestry Library Edition now includes more than 750 million Obituaries dating back to the 1800s from Newspapers.com.  Search Obituaries in New Collections or filter by Newspapers and Publications. 

Live Webinars & Recordings

View our schedule below to locate a session. Can't find what you are looking for or want to request an online or on-site session? Please email us at training@proquest.com.

Library Administrator Information

Library Administrators may access reports for Ancestry Library Edition here.  If you are within the library's IP range assigned to Ancestry Library Edition, you should be automatically authenticated. If you are instead prompted to login, please contact the ProQuest Customer Service team at 1.800.521.0600 ext. 72971 to confirm your role in the library and acquire the necessary login credentials.

 

Below is other information and materials to help your implementation of Ancestry Library Edition.

About Ancestry Library Edition

ProQuest has partnered with Ancestry.com to create Ancestry® Library Edition, one of the most important genealogical collections available today.  It has unparalleled coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada, Europe, Australia and other areas of the world!  This collection, with thousands of databases and billions of indexed names, is essential to having a broad genealogy collection, and its valuable content is a strong complement to HeritageQuest® Online.

Ancestry Library Edition Begin Searching

New in Ancestry Library Edition

What's new in Ancestry Library Edition?

Did your library just subscribe to Ancestry Library Edition?  The press release template can be customized to promote the new genealogy library resource in your community. The template is available under the additional materials tab.

UPDATED - EXPLORE BY LOCATION PAGES!

Ancestry offers an intuitive new Explore by Location feature.  This enhancement allows researchers to quickly access records by geographic location.  It's easier than ever to focus in on records relevant to a place your ancestor may have lived.  See more about this feature under the "Search Tips" tab.

UPDATED SEARCH FORMS! 

Ancestry offers powerful search features to help you control the results you get from your searches. We are making a few updates to our search forms to make searching more intuitive and to help you more easily locate your ancestor. Give us five minutes and Ancestry Anne will show where to find all of your favorite features, and introduce you to some features you may have been missing.

Click the link below to watch the video.

Quick Tip

Next time you are reading a non-fiction book about a historical event or people use Ancestry Library Edition to learn more about the real-life characters and locations via historical and genealogical records! 

A few popular examples suggested to us by library reading groups are: 

  • "In the Heart of the Sea" by Nathaniel Philbrick
  • "The Girls of Atomic City: The Untold Story of the Women Who Helped Win World War II" by Denise Kiernan
  • "The Path Between the Seas: The Creation of the Panama Canal, 1870-1914" by David McCullough 

Did You Know?

There are approximately 3.9 million individuals noted on the 1860 U.S. Census Slave Schedule. That is about 40% of the population of the southern states at the time. 

ProQuest Customer Service