Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Arts & Humanities Database: Searchable Fields

A designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM

Look Ups and Browseable Indexes

Arts & Humanities Database offers six Look ups or browseable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a exhibition--this is especially helpful since IBA has non-English content. Look ups are available for the following searchable fields: author, organization, location, person, publication, and subject For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

 AB

AB(deus ex machina)

Abstract search will reveal search terms only in the abstract of the record.  Nice way to immediately narrow.

Accession Number

AN

AN(212686790)

Searches both the ProQuest document ID and the Accession number.

Anywhere except fulltext

ALL

ALL(chihuly)

ALL searches for keywords in the abstract, author, title, and all additional indexed fields, but not the full-text associated with the record.

Author

AU

 

AU(silberman, robert)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author.  Look up available.

Caption

CAP

CAP(figure) or CAP(hat)

Used to find images/figures or specific words in the captions such as hat.

Cited Author

CAU

AU(silberman)

Use to search for an author that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Document Title

CTI

CTI(utopia)

Use to search for document titles or parts of document tiles that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Date

CYR

CYR(2010)

Use to search for publication dates that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Title

CPUB

CPUB(norton critical edition)

Use to search for a publication title that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Company/Organization

ORG

 

ORG(maasai tribe) 

Search for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article.  Look up available.

Document Number

AN

AN(212686790)

Searches both the ProQuest document ID and the Accession number.

Document Text

FT

FT(arrowheads)

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(metallurgy)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

ISSN

ISSN

 

ISSN(0003598X)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Location

LOC

LOC(thailand)

Search for a specific geographic area or location. Look up available.

Person

PER

PER(cohen, leonard)

Use to find articles about a person. Look  up available.

Publication Title

PUB

 

PUB(academe)

Use to search by a specific publication or publications. Look up available.

Section

SEC

SEC(books)

Use to find particular sections of results such as Children's books, Picture books, Review, Editorial, etc. 

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(abolition of slavery)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject.  Look up available.