Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Arts & Humanities Database: Sample Searches

A designed to complement the following indexes: ABM, Avery, BHA, BHI, DAAI, Index Islamicus, MLA, Philosopher's Index and RILM

Links to ...

Please note that the links below will only work if you are authenticated to ​Arts & Humanities Database through your organization.

Sample Searches

Basic Search

You are studying the art of different cultures and regions of the world.  African Art has piqued your interest, in particular, art of the Chokwe people.  

By inserting the word chokwe into the Basic Search box, your results with reveal anything with the keyword of chokwe in the details of the results.  Your organization may default to search anywhere including full text or anywhere except full text.  Keep this in mind.

At this point you can check boxes related to narrowing by only Full text, Peer reviewed and/or Scholarly journals.  Or you can wait for the results to determine if you want to narrow or not.

You will receive the entire list of results typically sorted by relevancy.  (And it may be searching all fields or everything BUT full-text depending on your organization's default search settings).

From the list of results, you can sort by date (ascending or descending) as well as narrow by the following filters:

  • Full text
  • Peer reviewed
  • Scholarly journal or other source types
  • Source type
  • Publication date range
  • Publication titles
  • Document types
  • Subject
  • Company/organization
  • Location
  • Person
  • Language (of original publication)

Advanced Search

You would like to find information on the ancient theatrical concept of deus ex machina.  

  • From Advanced Search form, enter deus ex machina in the search box.  At this point, you can immediate narrow your search to any of the drop down fields such as Abstract, Document Title, etc.  We will keep the search open for now.
  • On the results page, scan the results and sort by date if you prefer (default search is typically relevance).
  • Consider reviewing which date range has the most results and narrow to just that range for historical context information.
  • Under Person, examine who is most closely related to this search.  Consider narrowing by Person.
  • Or, use any of the narrowing facets as listed in the Basic Search tips.

Publications

Use this page to locate publications covered in this database, search within those publications, and browse the available issues.

You want to discover which publications have Africa in the title.

  • From the Publications Search box, enter africa.
  • Click on the publication title to be taken to the publication’s search page and the list of available issues.
  • To browse the most recent issue indexed, select the most recent year, month, and issue to view all the documents published in that particular issue.
NOTE:  You can also expand your search for titles with Africa in the publication summary or as a subject by changing the dropdown choice next to the search term.  Subjects have Look ups.