Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Art and Architecture Archive: Searchable Fields

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest's Art and Architecture Archive including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

Art and Architecture Archive offers three (3) Look ups (i.e., browsable indexes), so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or publication subject. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication title, and publication subject.  For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search page (through the Look up terms link located on the right side of the page).

To use and locate a Look up, select the field from the advanced search drop-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up (e.g., Look up Authors).  Look ups for Fashion Item and Company/Brand are listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field.  There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.  You may select multiple items by checking the box next to each, then selecting either the AND or the OR Boolean operator radio button prior to clicking the Search button.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Anywhere

      

On the Advanced Search page, enter search terms or phrases, using “double quotation marks” for two or more word phrases and (parentheses) to nest, and select the “All fields +text” from drop-down menu to the right of the search box.

Anywhere except full text

ALL

ALL(Guggenheim)

ALL searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search and will retreive results with full-text articles, but does not include a search of the text of the articles.

Author*

AU

 

AU(Slessor, Catherine)

AU(Christgau, Roert OR Hirschberg, Lynn)

Use to find documents written by a particular author.  Use the “Look up Authors” browsable list to find the correct spelling and format of an author’s name.  Names may be entered as Last Name, First Name or as First Name Last Name.

Country of Publication

  CP

CP("Canada")

Use this field to focus the search on results from publications printed in Canada, the United Kingdom, or the United States. This field is also known as Place of Publication.

Document Feature

DF

DF(Architectural drawings/plans)

Use to search for features within an article: architectural drawings/plans, cartoon, charts, diagrams, graphics, graphs, illustrations, maps, musical scores, photograph of artwork, photograph of building exterior, photograph of building interior, photographs, references, and tables. (Note: Articles always appear in the viewer starting on the first page of the article, yet the document feature searched for may be on a following page, so use the page navigation in the toolbar to ‘turn’ the pages.)

Document Number

AN

AN(1367031057)

Searches the ProQuest document ID.

Document Text

FT

FT(“Durer's British Library”)

FT("Maison de la Culture du Japan")

Search for keywords in the body of the article. Note that diacritic marks are ignored by the search engine, and are therefore unnecessary.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(“A new proposal for Durer's drawing of 'a house in Venice'”)

TI("Playing to the Gallery")

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article or locates the title of the article in its entirety.

Document Type

DType

DType(Article)

DType(Image/Photograph)


Use this to find specific document types: advertisement, article, back matter, correspondence, editorial cartoon/comic, feature, front matter, front page/cover story, illustration, image/photograph, news, obituary, poem, recipe, review, table of contents, and undefined. Combine the document type with additional search term for more refined results.

ISSN

ISSN

ISSN(0036536)

Use this field to search by a publication's assigned International  Standard Serial Number (ISSN). Note that not all publications have an ISSN.

Issue

ISS

ISS(447)

Use to search the issue number of a resource. Use in combination with a Volume (VO) search for more specificity.

Pages

PG

PG(a22)

PG(6)

PG(4-10)

Searches for the specific page or page range.

Publication Date

PD

PD(Sep 2, 2002)

PD(Dec)

Use this field to search for dates of publication. 

 Publication Subject*

JSU

 

 JSU(“Antiques”)

JSU("Building And Construction")

There are assigned publication subjects that are searchable in this database: Antiques, Architecture, Art, Building And Construction, Museums And Art Galleries, and Printing.

Publication Title*

PUB

 

PUB(The Architectural Review)

PUB(Print)

This database indexes 30 publications. Use this field to focus the search on a specific title.

Publication Year

PY

PY(1978)

PY (1914-1951)

Use a single year or series of years (separated by a hyphen) to search for every issue published during that year or that course of years.

 Publisher                

 PB

PB("Emap Limited")

PB("F & W Publications, Inc.")

This field can be used to locate publications based upon the publisher's name.

Tags

TAG

TAG("female architects")

Use to search for Tags attached to articles. This field is user generated and only searches Tags that were made public by ProQuest users.

Volume

VO

VO(14)

Use to search for the volume of a resource.  Use in combination with an Issue (ISS) search for more specificity.