Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Art and Architecture Archive: Sample Searches

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest's Art and Architecture Archive including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Links to Art and Architecture Archive

Please note that the links below will only work if you are authenticated to Art and Architecture Archive via your library's subscription.

Sample Searches

Below are several examples of search you may wish to try in order to familiarize yourself with the search and browse capabilities of ProQuest's Art & Architecture Archive

Please note that before conducting a new search, you should click "Clear form" to remove previous search terms and limits.

1. You are researching one of the world's most iconic modern architectural structures, the Pyramide du Louvre, and its architect, Ieoh Ming (I.M.) Pei:

a. On the Advanced Search page, enter "Pyramide du Louvre" OR (pyramid AND Louvre) in the first query box; in the second query box enter Pei.

b. Select Anywhere from the drop-down menus for both rows used.

c. Click the Search button to retrieve results.    

d. The results that appear will be sorted by default by Relevancy.  Explore the results and answer the following questions:

i. According to the article "Letter from Paris: The Grand Louvre Explained,"  what is The Grand Louvre ? ___________________________

ii. In the Louvre campus, where was Pei's Pyramid placed: Cour NapléonPavillion de Flore , or  Grande Galerie (Circle one)

iii. According to the May 1989 article “The Victory of the Pyramid” :

1.      Was there an open competition to select the architect?  Yes  /  No  (Circle one)

2.      Who selected Pei as the architect? ______________________________

 

2. You would like to browse and explore the inaugural issue of Art and Asia Pacific

a. Click on the Publications link below the database name at the top of the page.

b. Locate and click on Art and Asia Pacific (Archive 1993-2005).

c. Scroll down the page to the Browse section and click to expand the year 1993.

d. Click on the December issue to open the results list with a page order listing of all pages of the issue, starting with the Front Page.

e. Click to view the cover page. This launches the Full Text - Flash viewer displaying the issue's cover.

f. Locate and click on the Browse this issue link to the right of the publication details at the top of the page. 

g. Explore the issue page by page using the viewer's navigation tools, and answer the following questions:

i. Is this title published  monthly    weekly   or   quarterly ? (Circle one)

ii. Located on page 2, who is the editor of this publication? ____________________________

iii. Jump to page 6 and answer the following:

1. What is the name of the art piece displayed on page 6? _________________

2. What year was this completed? ______________

3. What materials were used to create this piece? ____________________

4. What is the name and location of the gallery that is advertising on this page? ____________________________________

iv. What is the title of the first article found in the issue? _______________________________________

v. Pages 64-70 contain a review and critique of what artist's work? ___________________  Where is this artist from? ________________  What is the name of the art piece found on page 65? ____________________________  Who wrote the article? ____________________

vi. On page 85, click on the image in the bottom right corner to display the article that contains this image in the Flash viewer to gain access to the page navigation, zoom and pan tools to answer the following questions:

1. Who is the woman pictured in the bottom right corner of page 85? _____________________

2. According to the article, who is she? _________________________________________________________________________

3. On page 86, the article's subject gives a definition of what 'art' means in Japan. Quote or paraphrase her response: ____________________

_________________________________________________________________________________________________________ 


3. The art and craft of stained glass has a long history, and you are considering the purchase of books on the topic for your collection.

a. On the Basic Search page, enter "stained glass" in the query box, then click the search button or use your keyboard's Enter key.

b. To focus on vetting books you may wish to purchase, you need to locate book reviews among the search results.

i. Expand the narrowing filter for Document Type and click Review to filter the results.

ii. Resort the results list by "Publication Date (oldest first)"

iii. Click to view the Full Text of the August 1920 "Publications: The Art and Craft of Stained Glass" and answer the following questions:

1. In the second paragraph of the article, what assumption about this art form is challenged? (Circle one)

a. It is difficult art form to create.

b. Stained glass pieces are fixed and unmovable.

c. Only four colors should be used in any piece. 

2. On page 2 of this review, the author notes the popularity of stained glass in private homes as being few  / numerous  / non-existent .  (Circle one) 

c. Return to the Results page and resort the results by "Publication date (most recent first)."

d. Click to view the Full-text Flash of the March 2004 "Review: Transparent Tapestries - The History of Stained Glass: The Art of Light Medieval to Contemporary" and use the Zoom and Pan tools to answer the following questions:

i. What is the list price of this title? ______________________

ii. The reviewer notes the approximate size of the largest stained glass pieces? What is the comparison that is used? _____________________________________

iii.  Does the reviewer note a lack of  / over-abundance of  technical explanations?  (Circle one)

iv. Does the reviewer ultimately recommend the addition of this title to a collection?  Yes  /  No  (Circle one)

1. If yes, quote his exact words: __________________________________________________________________________

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

2. If no, paraphrase his rationale for not recommending the title: _________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________________________

See the Additional Materials page to download the PDF of these hands-on exercises with answers.