Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts: Searchable Fields

A guide to all aspects of ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Thesaurus

The Thesauri are used to index ASFA: subject terms and taxonomic terms. Both term types appear in the Subject field, but the taxonomic terms also appear in the Taxonomic terms field. When you click on the Thesaurus link from Advanced search, you are given the option to search either thesauri. The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search. Subjects are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms. The thesauri for ASFA are called:

  • Aquatic Sciences & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) Thesaurus (Subjects)
  • Life Sciences Thesaurus (Subjects)
  • Taxonomic Terms (Latin Names of Organisms Vocabulary)

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

ASFA offers four Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication, subject heading and keywords/identifiers. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, aside to the search row you will see a link to the Look up list. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

AB(habitat destruction)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Searching for the exact phrase put searchterms in quotes like ab(“habitat destruction)

Accession Number

AN

AN(1765993945), AN(PQ0002637155)

Searches the unique ProQuest Document ID (example 1) or the ASFA accession number (example 2) for articles and documents.

All Fields (Anywhere)

ALL

ALL(habitat)

Search in all fields in the citation and abstract.

Alternate Title

OTI

OTI(Les Eaux Modales du gyre subpolaire de l'Atlantique Nord)

Before, it was called “Original Title” : to search non-English Titles.

Author

AU

AU(Fivelstad, Sveinung)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. 

Author Affiliation

AF

AF(Brest)

Use this field to retrieve documents associated to a particular institution.

Classification

CC

CC(D 04030: Models, Methods, Remote Sensing)

The classification codes and descriptions are broad subject headings that are specific to various databases. Classification Codes are a fast way to precisely target a search by topic, geographical area, or article type.

Conference

CF

CF(chlorinated dioxins and japan)

This field provides the name of the conference and where and when it occurred.

Corporate author

CA

CA(université Bretagne occidentale)

Used to search the Corporate/Institutional author.

Digital Object Identifiers

DOI

DOI("10.1186/s40068-016-0057-2")

Search for documents with DOIs using the DOI search. For the search always put the phrase in quotes to find the relevant document.

Document Title

TI

TI(chlorella vulgaris production enhancement)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Editor

ED

ED(Brian, J)

Used to search Scientific coordinator.

Environmental Regime

ER

ER(marine)

Used to search for the Environmental Regime.

Input Center, ASFA

TR

TR(if*)

Search the records produced by an input center : 

Enter the code and * (ie: CS* is used for Proquest) (IF* is used for Ifremer). 

ISBN

ISBN

ISBN(9608792614)

This search field looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

ISSN

ISSN

ISSN(0960-3115)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard    Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Keyword/identifiers

IF

IF(“axenic rhizoids”)

To search the researchers’ keywords, or identifiers, or vernacular terms of species.

Language of Publication

LA

LA(French)

Used to search the Language of Publication AND the Summary Language.

Location

LOC

LOC(UK)

Search for a specific geographic area or location.

Notes

NT

NT(docelec)

Use to find the resource location before Feb 2011. After Feb 2011 the resource location is within the URL (see also field “Supplemental Data – SD”).

“Others numbers”

Called “Identifier/keywords” in the reference

NU

NU(ifremer)

Used to search the reports (report, number, document number, patent number). Note that all reports don't necessarily have a number.

Publication Date

PD

PD(20160501)

PD(YYYYMMDD) or PD(YYYYMM) or PD(YYYY)

Publication Title

PUB

PUB(ecological modelling)

Used to search for a specific publication.

Publication Year

PY

PY(2000)

Use to find a specific publication year

Publisher

PB

PB(Elsevier Science)

Used to retrieve documents from a specific publisher.

Subfile

SFL

SFL(ASFA 2: Ocean Technology Policy & Non-Living Resources)

ASFA is actually one big database that is a collection of five subfile databases.

Subject Heading (all)

SU

SU(Habitat)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. It will retrieve anything to do with the subject keyword being searched. For example, doing a search for the subject heading of “habitat”, it would find articles if the subject was habitat, habitat selection, habitat factors or habitat improvement.

Searching the SU field will also include a search in the single fields Keyword/identifier (IF) and Taxonomic term (TXTERM).

Summary Language

SL

SL(German)

Used to search the summary language in a specific language.

 

Supplemental Data (see also NU)

SD

SD(Incl. bibliogr: 12 ref.)

Before February 2011, this field was called NOTES (see also field “Notes – NT”)

Taxonomic Term

TXTERM

TXTERM(Thunnus thynnus)

Search for a field of science that encompasses description, identification, nomenclature, and classification.

Update

UD

UD(2016), UD(201505)

Used to retrieve all records added during a specific database update. The structure of the field is YYYYMM. Searches also in the field “Last updated”.

URL

RL

RL(ifremer)

Used to search for the URL of an institutional repository.

Volume

VO

VO(219)

Used to search for the volume of a resource.