Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts: Document View

A guide to all aspects of ASFA: Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Document View tips

1. Document Formats

Abstract/Details: display the citation, full abstract and indexing details. Any linking tools that the library administrator has enabled to help locate the full text will be available here. The Abstract provides a summary of the document and may include a translate option. ProQuest will translate the abstract from English to any of the 14 languages currently supported. When you click Translate, a disclaimer will advise you that this is an "on-the-fly" machine translation and is not intended to replace human translation.

Full text: display the abstract and HTML full text. There may also be an option to translate the full text. There may be a translate the HTML full text from English to any of the 14 languages currently supported. When you click Translate, a disclaimer will advise you that this is an “on-the-fly" machine translation and is not intended to replace human translation.

Full text - PDF: Each record will contain links to the available document formats.

Important Note: Please consider that not all records have full text available from ProQuest and you may only have a link to view the Abstract/Details. If your library has enabled tools to locate full text for you, you may see additional links on the Abstract/Details tab.

2. References

When provided by the author and publisher References contain the citations of resources used to help contribute thoughts and ideas discussed within the current document. If one of the References is available to your library through another ProQuest database, you will be able to click on the reference to view the full record.

Cited by displays a list of other ProQuest documents that include the current document in their list of References.

Documents with shared references provides a list of the ProQuest documents that have References in common with the current document.

3. Document PDF, Cite, Email, Print, More

When viewing a full record, use one of the tools to work with the item.

Download PDF document to Adobe Reader (when available).

The Cite tool generates a bibliography in any of the supported styles available from the pull-down menu. Copy and paste the generated bibliography into a document and make any necessary edits. Remember to always check for accuracy.

Email or Print the record.

Add to selected items lets you select the record and create a list of items to work with later on.

Save the record to a bibliographic manager like RefWorks or New RefWorks (account required), to Google Classroom, Google Drive (account required, this option can be disabled in the administrative module) or to the RIS file format. Exporting moves a copy of the record out of ProQuest and into one of the bibliographic managers or supported file formats. You can also save records in PDF, RTF, HTML, XLS or text only format.

4. Related items and Search with indexing terms

Click on Related items to display five suggested items that are related to the current record. ProQuest analyzes the keywords in the full record and then suggests similar items.

Search with indexing terms displays the indexed subject terms for the record and allows you to choose relevant subjects. When you click Search, ProQuest looks for documents in your currently selected databases that are indexed using ALL of your selected terms. It is possible to come across records that do not include subject terms and therefore this feature may not be available. In other cases additional index terms such as the author may appear in this section.

5. Details

The Details section displays the other indexed fields that did not appear at the top of the record. The indexed fields are also known as searchable fields. One exception is the Document URL field and this is not part of the searchable fields list, but instead provides a link to the full record. This is a persistent or durable URL that you can bookmark or save to give you access to the full record at another time.

Please see the Searchable Fields page of this guide for a list of common ProQuest fields. See the database LibGuide for specific database search fields.

6. Ebook Central e-books

If your institution has access to Ebooks Central, you will presented with ebooks relevant to the subject of the reference you are currently viewing which are available for you to read. 

7. Altmetric

Altmetrics are metrics and qualitative data that are complementary to traditional, citation-based metrics. They can include (but are not limited to) peer reviews on Faculty of 1000, citations on Wikipedia and in public policy documents, discussions on research blogs, mainstream media coverage and mentions on social networks such as Twitter. (https://www.altmetric.com/about-altmetrics/what-are-altmetrics/)

Document view

Document view