Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals: Searchable Fields

A guide to all aspects of Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals including content, searching, and viewing results on the new ProQuest platform.

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers three Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication, and subject/artist. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right.

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

 

 

AB(brutalist)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Accession Number / ProQuest Document ID

AN

AN(198001790)

Searches both the unique ProQuest document ID (applied to all documents) and the 3rd party document ID or accession number (applied to some databases such as Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals).

Anywhere

ALL

ALL(frank gehry)

ALL searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.

Author

AU

 

AU(Etherington-Smith, Meredith)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author. Can be searched as (last name, first name) or (first name last name).

Conference

CF

CF(international congresses for modern architecture)

Use to find articles related to specific conferences.

Corporate author

CA

 

CA(CAST architecture) 

Search for a company or other organizations responsible for the content of an article.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(Barcelona)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Document Type

DType

DType(interview)

Use this to find specific document types such as article, book, essay, and market research.

ISSN

ISSN

 

ISSN(02794977)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Issue

ISS

ISS(11)

Use to search the issue number of a resource.

Language

LA

LA(Spanish)

Use to locate the original language of the document.

Notes

NT

NT(Madrid)

Use to search the notes field - displayed as "Supplemental data".

Physical Description

PH

PH(axonometric drawings)

Use to find articles with a particular graphic feature - displayed as "Document feature".

Publication Title

PUB

 

PUB(AA files)

Use to search for a specific journal title.

Publication year

YR

YR(1987)

Use to find a specific publication year.

The use of <, >, and – are supported to specify before or after a specific date and a date range.

Reviewed Work

RV

RV(architecture)

Use to find titles of reviewed books and exhibitions - displayed as "Related work".

Source type

SType

STYPE(other)

Use to find a specific source type such as scholarly journals or other sources.

Subject /artist

SA

SA(Office buildings)

Use the subject/artist search field to look for articles about a specific subject or architect.

Update

UD

UD(2017-07-26)

Use to search for articles uploaded to the database on a particular day. Use the date format: YYYY-MM-DD.

Volume

VO

VO(100)

Use to search for the volume of a resource.