Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Guida ai prodotti Proquest per BIBLIOSAN: IPA

Argomenti

  • Analisi del Farmaco
  • Biofarmaceutica
  • Chimica Farmaceutica
  • Farmaceutica
  • Farmaci Sperimentali
  • Farmacoeconomia
  • Farmacognosia
  • Farmacologia
  • Interazione di Farmaci
  • Legislazione e Regolamentazione
  • Letteratura e Trattamento dell'Informazione
  • Metabolismo e Distribuzione del Farmaco
  • Metodologia e Sperimentazione
  • Pratiche di Farmacia
  • Pratiche di Farmacia Istituzionale
  • Reazioni Avverse ai Farmaci
  • Sociologia, Economia, Etica
  • Sperimentazione Clinica
  • Stabilità dei Farmaci
  • Tecnologia Farmaceutica
  • Test Farmacologici Preliminari
  • Tossicità
  • Valutazione dei Farmaci

Selezione delle fonti

La banca dati IPA indicizza oltre di 800 riviste internazionali di farmaceutica, mediche, di cosmetica ed altre discipline relative alla salute, tra cui tutti i giornali di farmaceutica degli Stati Uniti.

IPA è l'unico servizio il cui scopo principale è quello di rivedere e presentare la letteratura farmaceutica. Tale documentazione include non solo le informazioni di clinica e tecnica dei farmaci, ma anche le informazioni relative alla pratica della farmacia, educazione farmaceutica, aspetti legali della ricerca e dei farmaci, ecc. - Pertanto, qualsiasi ricercatore che necessita di risultati esaustivi per una problematica relativa ad un farmaco, dovrebbe includere IPA nelle sue ricerche online. In molti casi, in particolare quelli relativi alla tecnologia e preparazione dei farmaci, IPA rappresenta il database di riferimento.

IPA tenta di coprire tutte le riviste di farmaceutica al mondo, indipendentemente dalla lingua in cui vengono presentati gli articoli, le dimensioni o l'oscurità della rivista, o la sua distribuzione o il contenuto. L'intento è quello di coprire tutti gli articoli e le sezioni (come lettere, note e editoriali) in modo che chiunque utilizzi IPA per individuare le informazioni su un farmaco o una problematica, troverà le informazioni pertinenti.

Per "letteratura farmaceutica" si intendono gli articoli su farmaci e le loro proprietà, la farmacocinetica, il produttore, la ricerca e l'uso; e la pratica della farmacia. Pertanto, oltre ad articoli tecnici e scientifici, possono essere considerati letteratura farmaceutica anche quelli che discutono la pratica professionale della farmacia o l'uso terapeutico e clinico dei farmaci. Le pubblicazioni di farmaceutica sono indicizzate e riassunte integralmente, dall’inizio alla fine. Oltre agli articoli, la copertura include le lettere, le rubriche, le note, le comunicazioni, editoriali, ecc se sono giudicati rilevanti.

Anche molte riviste di stato di farmaceutica statunitensi sono incluse, così come molte tra le più importanti pubblicazioni di cosmetica. Riviste e pubblicazioni di cosmetica che discutono l'uso di prodotti parenterali e iniettabili sono coperte quasi al livello di estensione delle pubblicazioni farmaceutiche. - Inoltre sono incluse anche selezionate riviste di salute. Sono coperte le principali riviste mediche e riviste specializzate in biomedicina. Gli articoli da queste pubblicazioni sono inclusi quando viene trattata un esperienza clinica o terapeutica, o quando viene discussa una pratica rilevante (ad esempio, legislazione farmaceutica, l'educazione alla salute, ecc).

A partire da dicembre 1988 sono stati inclusi in IPA gli abstract di presentazioni ai più importanti incontri della ASHP. Questi vengono incidizzati in modo approfondito, anche con l’aggiunta di Section Headings, come tutti gli altri abstract IPA. L'inclusione di abstracts dei meetings fornisce una registrazione permanente e di accesso immediato a una varietà di importanti studi clinici e discussioni pratiche che potrebbero altrimenti andare persi. IPA è uno dei pochi servizi che offre accesso alle presentazioni dei meeting e alla ricerca accademica di farmaceutica.

Cos'è IPA

International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) offre una raccolta completa di informazioni su sviluppo e utilizzo dei farmaci. IPA, la principale fonte di documentazione sanitaria dedicata ai farmaci, fornisce informazioni ricavate da oltre 800 riviste di argomento sanitario di tutto il mondo a farmacisti, specialisti di informazioni sui veleni, centri di educazione al farmaco, operatori dell'industria farmaceutica, operatori sanitari, farmacologi, bibliotecari medici, case cosmetiche, ambientalisti, educatori, tossicologi e avvocati.

Frequenza aggiornamenti - Mensile

IPA Section Headings

La copertura di IPA può essere ulteriormente definita dall'analisi della seguente lista di sezioni in cui gli abstract di IPA sono classificati. La lista contiene una breve descrizione del tipo di articolo che è incluso in ciascuna specifica sezione ed in alcuni casi il tipo di informazione che non appare in quella sezione, ma in altre. Le sezioni di IPA sono ricercabili nel campo Subject Headings (SU) e rappresentano uno strumento utile per raffinare i risultati della ricerca.

ADVERSE DRUG REACTIONS—Abstracts are included which discuss a reaction not expected or intended when a medication is given in the normal dose range and route of administration, e.g., reactions not normally listed as side effects, unexpected drug addiction, hypersensitivity, potentiation of dormant or other disease state, etc.
BIOPHARMACEUTICS—Abstracts are included which discuss the effect of formulation, physicalchemical properties, particle size and dosage form on the body or tissue, e.g., pharmacokinetic studies, in vivo dissociation time studies, absorption and adsorption, effect of sustained-action medications, generic and therapeutic equivalency, bioavailability, drug-complex effects, effects of different salts or esters, effect of route of administration on action if dosage-form related, etc.
DRUG ANALYSIS—Abstracts are included which discuss an assay or analysis in which a drug or drugs are quantitatively tested, e.g., content, impurities, counterfeit drugs, etc.
DRUG EVALUATIONS—Abstracts are included that discuss the therapy or specific in vivo human effect of an established (non investigational or experimental) drug in prophylaxis, treatment, diagnosis, or a disease state, e.g., clinical cases, comparison studies, tolerance, placebo effects, DUEs, protocols, prescribing practices, rational therapy, compliance, etc.
DRUG INTERACTIONS—Abstracts are included that discuss an in vivo drug-drug, drug-chemical, or drug-food interaction relating to therapy or diagnosis (includes interaction of drug and radiation therapy), e.g., synergism, summation, potentiation, antagonism, competition, in vivo drug-complex formation, etc.
DRUG METABOLISM AND BODY DISTRIBUTION—Abstracts are included that discuss the actual  metabolism of a drug or distribution of a drug in the human body or in animals, e.g., pharmacokinetics, absorption, adsorption, excretion, endogenous physiologic interaction, biotransformation, test or analysis of drugs in body fluids or tissue, placental barrier and transfer, drugs present in lactation, effect of route of administration on drug’s availability and breakdown, etc.
DRUG STABILITY—Abstracts are included that discuss decomposition of a specific pharmaceutical or drug and in vitro incompatibilities, e.g., hydrolysis, effects of temperature, effects due to container, moisture, parenteral admixture incompatibilities, etc.
ENVIRONMENTAL TOXICITY—Abstracts are included that discuss toxicity due to human or animal environment or contact, e.g., occupational drug poisoning, pharmaceutical chemicals, zoonoses, pollutants, hospital acquired infections, etc.
HISTORY—Abstracts are included that discuss the history of all phases of pharmacy and drug use, including modern history, e.g., history of the law of pharmacy, drug discoveries, pharmacy practice, pharmacy literature and art, etc.
INFORMATION PROCESSING AND LITERATURE—Abstracts are included that discuss drug literature and information and its use, e.g., computers, data processing, new book and journal references, pharmacopeias, drug information systems, automated record keeping, nomenclature, information transfer, etc.
INSTITUTIONAL PHARMACY PRACTICE—Abstracts are included that discuss institutional pharmacy practice, e.g., hospitals, extended care facilities, nursing homes, long-term care facilities, skilled nursing facilities, mental health facilities, health maintenance organizations, administrative control, hospital administration, drug distribution systems, pharmacist’s role in compounding parenteral solutions, outpatient pharmacy services, etc.
INVESTIGATIONAL DRUGS—Abstracts are included that discuss the action in a human of a drug that is investigational or not currently used in the United States, e.g., drugs may be included that are not investigational in countries other than the United States, clinical trials, double-blind studies, etc.
LEGISLATION, LAWS AND REGULATIONS—Abstracts are included that discuss legislation, standards and regulations, e.g., patents, narcotic and dangerous drug regulations, licensure, licensing of drugs, accreditation, taxation, drug recalls, liability cases, FDA, JCAHO, ISO, etc.
METHODOLOGY—Abstracts are included that discuss means and methods of evaluating a drug action in humans, animals, or biological systems, e.g., clinical study design, equipment, systems, procedures, etc.
MICROBIOLOGY—Abstracts are included that discuss pharmaceuticals, their effect on or preparation from microorganisms, and microbiology important to pharmacy, e.g., effect of a medication on an organism in vitro, resistance studies, in vitro antibiotic spectrum studies, effect of environmental conditions on microorganisms, etc.
PHARMACEUTICAL CHEMISTRY—Abstracts are included that discuss chemistry, e.g., synthesis, structure-activity, separation and purification, structure determinations, pure analytical chemistry, etc.
PHARMACEUTICAL EDUCATION—Abstracts are included that discuss education and training relating to pharmacy or other health professions, e.g., residency programs, technician training, continuing education, academic education, pharmaceutical research, etc.
PHARMACEUTICAL TECHNOLOGY—Abstracts are included that discuss manufacturing, formulas, and formulations of pharmaceuticals, sterilization, and contamination, routine tests on pharmaceutical preparations, plastics and packaging, and numerous other topics of a similar nature, e.g., distillations, preparation of parenterals, aseptic technique, aerosols, containers,
preservatives, pyrogens, quality control, flavoring, specific preparation processes, antibioticmanufacturing, equipment, closures, granulation, powder flow studies, vehicles, hardness and disintegration tests, compaction, etc.
PHARMACEUTICS—Abstracts are included that discuss physical pharmacy or chemistry, rheology, non routine tests on pharmaceutical preparations, e.g., dissolution, filtration, pH studies, dissociation constant determinations, surface action studies, ionization, isotonicity, micelles, crystallization, complex formation, emulsion creaming and breaking, solubility, etc.
PHARMACOGNOSY—Abstracts are included that discuss the isolation, extraction, growth, etc., of plants producing drugs or drug products, e.g., separation, biosynthesis of plant products, fungus and fungicides, algae, yeasts, etc.
PHARMACOLOGY—Abstracts are included that discuss the mode or mechanism of action or a general discussion of a drug or diagnostic agent that is not a clinical evaluation, e.g., establishing the biological activity of newly synthesized chemicals, activity due to structural differences, site of action determinations, route of administration determinations, drug-disease discussions, pharmacogenetics, biochemistry, drug screening, establishing dosage and dosage schedules, etc.
PHARMACY PRACTICE—Abstracts are included that discuss pharmacy in general, e.g., pharmacy design, dispensing, professional practice, pharmacist’s role in the community, over-the-counter drugs, home health care agencies, first aid supplies, prescriptions, compounding technique, etc.
PRELIMINARY DRUG TESTING—Abstracts are included that discuss an established action in an animal of an experimental drug still in the investigational or pre-investigational stage, e.g., animal studies on new uses for established drugs, antimicrobial studies in animals, tissue cultures, etc.
SOCIOLOGY, ECONOMICS AND ETHICS—Abstracts are included that discuss the effects of drugs, pharmacy, pharmaceutical practice, or medicine on society and the economics and/or ethics involved in pharmacy, e.g., cost surveys, reimbursement, marketing, error studies, pharmacists’ civic duties, effect of disease on society, epidemics and eradication, folk medicine, addiction and habituation, drug overuse and abuse, health care and plans, disaster preparedness, etc.
TOXICITY—Abstracts are included that discuss toxicity, toxicology, poisoning, lethal dose studies of a drug or chemical, e.g., addiction, teratogenicity, habituation, withdrawal, side effects, results of drug overuse and abuse, antidotes, contraindications, overdose, etc.