Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

ProQuest Biological Science Collection: About

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest Biological Science Collection including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Subject Coverage

  • AIDS
  • Algology
  • Amino acids
  • Animal behavior
  • Aquaculture
  • Aquatic organisms
  • Bacteriology
  • Bioengineering
  • Biological membranes
  • Biotechnology (agricultural, medical, environmental, marine & pharmaceutical)
  • Calcified tissue
  • Calcium
  • Chemoreception
  • Conference Papers Index
  • Ecology
  • Entomology
  • Genetics (plant, animal and human)
  • Human genome research
  • Immunology
  • Marine biology
  • Microbiology
  • Molecular biology
  • Mycology
  • Neurosciences
  • Nucleic acids
  • Oncogenes & growth factors
  • Peptides
  • Proteins
  • Protozoology
  • Safety science
  • Toxicology
  • Virology
  • Zoology

Publication Types

  • Scholarly Journals
  • Trade Journals
  • Magazines
  • Reports
  • Books
  • Newspapers

What is ProQuest Biological Science Collection?

ProQuest Biological Science Collection


A specialised biological research database comprised of three primary elements:

  • Full Text: Scholarly journals, trade journals, periodicals, conference papers, reports and other documents in full text
  • Abstracts: A highly specialised bibliographic database allowing more comprehensive search and wider discovery of relevant papers beyond the available full text
  • This database provides a unique solution for biological science research with particular strengths in areas such as aquatic science, immunology, microbiology, entomology, animal behaviour and neuroscience


Abstracts in ProQuest Biological Science Collection

The available full text is supplemented by much wider range of abstracts of literature in biology related disciplines to ensure researchers have the maximum opportunity to discover literature to their search queries.

ProQuest editors  work on article selection to ensure relevant content – selecting on an article by article basis, rather than just title by title. 

Beyond the mainstream peer reviewed journals in this field this resource provides abstracts of hard-to-get, low circulation grey literature publications, often with links back to the full text (typically open access repositories). The database also includes good coverage of international content including non English language content.


Several topic specific thesauri are maintained and developed by ProQuest editorial teams allowing researchers  to find subject terms to narrow or broaden their search. Subjects are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

Databases in ProQuest Biological Science Collection


ProQuest Platform Videos

Selection Policy

ProQuest Biological Science Collection strives to meet the current requirements of the biological science research community and to anticipate future needs. Selection of resources is a continuous process affected by the changing curriculum as well as ensuring we are meeting the needs of the researcher.

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: