Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Black Abolitionist Papers: Search History

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest's Black Abolitionist Papers database including content, searching, and viewing results.

Search History

What is the Search History page?
The Search History page records all the searches you have run during the current session. It allows you to run searches again, modify them, save them to My Archive, combine them with other searches or delete them from your list.

Note that the searches on the Search History page are only retained for a single session, so any information recorded there will be lost once you exit the database. If you want to keep a search beyond the current session then you must save it to the My Archive area.

Click the Search History link in the main areas of the database to open the Search History index.

Each entry in the list consists of:

  • a number to indicate the position of a search in the list
  • the terms that make up your search
  • a Save to My Archive link
  • a Modify Search link
  • the number of results retrieved by the search.

Running a search
Click the underlined search terms for the search you want to run. The results of the search will be displayed on the Search Results page.

Adding a search to My Archive
To save a search for use beyond the length of the current session you must save it to My Archive:

  • Click the "Save to My Archive" link next to the search in the list. The My Archive: Name a Saved Search page is displayed.
  • Enter a name for your search and click the "Save" button. The My Archive: Saved Searches page is displayed showing your search at the top of the list.

Modifying a search
You may want to change elements of a search to widen or narrow the scope. Instead of having to enter your search terms all over again, you can use the Modify Search link.

  • Click the Modify Search link corresponding to the search you want to alter.  The search page, along with all the search terms you originally specified, is displayed.
  • Edit the terms you want to change and click the "Search" button to run the search with your revised terms.

Clearing searches
Click the Clear these searches link to remove all searches from the current list.