Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Black Abolitionist Papers: View Contents

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest's Black Abolitionist Papers database including content, searching, and viewing results.

View Contents Tips

How do I get there?

You can access the View Contents page by selecting View Contents tab in the grey toolbar at the top of the page. This page contains browsable lists based on specific indexing: Date, Document Type, Location, Name, Source, and specific link to the University of North Carolina volumes.

Where can I go from there?

From the View Contents page, you can click any of the browsable lists to begin exploring the content of the database based upon specific indexing. For example, clicking the Browse by name link will open the A-Z list of names indexed. Click the letter of the last name(s) you wish to explore.

What can I do there?

Once you have selected a browsable list to explore, click through to explore that list's content further. Clicking on a specific date, location, name, etc. will then open that record or associated list of records in a Results page. For more information about the Results page, see the Results page of this guide.

Additionally, you may wish to save this page as a Favorite or share this page with others. Click the Durable URL link to the right to capture the URL that will direct back to this page when clicked. If you are working off-site, you may be required to authenticate (i.e., login to your library's remote server) prior to the link directing to the page. If the URL is shared with someone that is unaffiliated with your organization's library, they will not have a remote user login and therefore will not be authenticated.

Browse by Document Type

How do I get there?

From the View Contents page, click the "Browse by document type" link to open the page and select to view records by their assigned document type. This database includes the following document types: Black newspapers, books, manuscripts, military records, pamphlets, and white newspapers.   

Where can I go from there?

Click the link of the type of document you wish to explore.  A list of related subcategories specific to that document type will expand. Click to select a subcategory of interest to view a list of specific records related to that subcategory.

What can I do there?

The results that display function just like results from a standard search - click the title to view the complete record, click the available document link (full text or PDF), and click to add the item to the marked list.

Browse by Name

How do I get there?

From the View Contents page, click the "Browse by name" link to open the page and select to view records organized alphabetically by last name.    

Where can I go from there?

Click the link of the letter associated with the last name you wish to find.  A list of name specific to that letter will expand.

What can I do there?

Click the last name you are interested in seeing records for or about. The related records will load in the page. The results that display function just like results from a standard search - click the title to view the complete record, click the available document link (full text or PDF), and click to add the item to the marked list.

Browse by Source

How do I get there?

From the View Contents page, click the "Browse by source" link to open the page and select to view records organized alphabetically by source library/collection.    

Where can I go from there?

Click the link of the source you wish to explore.  A list of documents specific to that source will display in alphabetically order.

What can I do there?

Click the title of the item that you are interested in viewing. The related records will load in the page. The results that display function just like results from a standard search - click the title to view the complete record, click the available document link (full text or PDF), and click to add the item to the marked list.

Browse by Location

How do I get there?

From the View Contents page, click the "Browse by location" link to open the page and select to view records organized alphabetically.    

Where can I go from there?

Click the link of the letter you wish to explore.  A list of locations will display in in alphabetically order.

What can I do there?

Click the location that you are interested in. The related records will load in the page. The results that display function just like results from a standard search - click the title to view the complete record, click the available document link (full text or PDF), and click to add the item to the marked list.

Browse by Date

How do I get there?

From the View Contents page, click the "Browse by date" link to open the page and select to view records organized chronologically by year.    

Where can I go from there?

Click the link of the year you wish to explore.  A list of documents specific to that year will display in descending chronological order by month and day.

What can I do there?

Click the date that you are interested in. The related records will load in the page. The results that display function just like results from a standard search - click the title to view the complete record, click the available document link (full text or PDF), and click to add the item to the marked list.

University of North Carolina Press Volumes

How do I get there?

From the View Contents page, click the "University of North Carolina Press volumes" link to open the page and select to view records organized by volume.    

Where can I go from there?

Click the link of the volume you wish to explore.  A list of sections specific to that volume will display.

What can I do there?

Click the section that you are interested in. The related records will load in the page. The results that display function just like results from a standard search - click the title to view the complete record, click the available document link (full text or PDF), and click to add the item to the marked list.