ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Ancestry Library Edition: About

Ancestry® Library Edition, distributed exclusively by ProQuest and powered by Ancestry.com, delivers billions of records in census data, vital records, directories, photos, and more from countries all over the world.

Live Webinars & Recordings

View our schedule below to locate a session. Can't find what you are looking for or want to request an online or on-site session? Please email us at training@proquest.com.

Five Minute Finds from Ancestry.com

LEARN FROM THE ANCESTRY.COM EXPERTS!!!  Tips and tricks from the Ancestry.com experts in the video series Five Minute Finds.

Ancestry Library Edition You Tube Playlist

Click here to access the playlist or click play below.

Did You Know?

There are approximately 3.9 million individuals noted on the 1860 U.S. Census Slave Schedule. That is about 40% of the population of the southern states at the time. 

About Ancestry Library Edition

ProQuest has partnered with Ancestry.com to create Ancestry® Library Edition, one of the most important genealogical collections available today.  It has unparalleled coverage of the United States and the United Kingdom, including census, vital, church, court, and immigration records, as well as record collections from Canada, Europe, Australia and other areas of the world!  This collection, with thousands of databases and billions of indexed names, is essential to having a broad genealogy collection, and its valuable content is a strong complement to HeritageQuest® Online.

Quick Tip

Next time you are reading a non-fiction book about a historical event or people use Ancestry Library Edition to learn more about the real-life characters and locations via historical and genealogical records! 

A few popular examples suggested to us by library reading groups are: 

  • "In the Heart of the Sea" by Nathaniel Philbrick
  • "The Girls of Atomic City: The Untold Story of the Women Who Helped Win World War II" by Denise Kiernan
  • "The Path Between the Seas: The Creation of the Panama Canal, 1870-1914" by David McCullough 

New in Ancestry Library Edition

What's new in Ancestry Library Edition? The following collections have recently been added to Ancestry Library Edition's coffers...

  • Savannah, Georgia, Select Board of Health and Health Department Records, 1824-1864, 1887-1896
  • U.S., List of Interred Soldiers of the U.S. Army, 1827-1889
  • Caernarfornshire, Wales, Lleyn and Eifionydd Church Registers and Gravestone Inscriptions, 1600-2012
  • UK, WWI Service Medal and Award Rolls, 1914-1920
  • York, Yorkshire, England, St. Michael le Belfrey Parish Register, 1565-1653
  • Oklahoma and Indian Territory, Land Allotment Jackets for Five Civilized Tribes, 1884-1934
  • New Zealand Expeditionary Force Record of Personal Service, 1914-1918
  • Canada, Soldier Homestead Grant Registers, 1918-1931

Find these and so much more in the Card Catalog pages, sort by "Date Added" to see all the collections listed by newest first. 

Are You a History Buff?

Check out our This Month in ProQuest Historical Newspapers LibGuide to learn more about historical events that made headlines in ProQuest Historical Newspapers!