Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace: Searchable Fields

A guide to all aspects of Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Thesaurus

A thesaurus provides a standard language or set of terms with which to describe a subject area. Applied to indexing of a database, it indicates to a searcher which terms to use to retrieve the maximum number of relevant documents.

The thesaurus terms are used by indexers to describe the contents of publications in a consistent, comprehensive and concise manner. These terms are listed in the Subject field (SU) of each record added to the database.

Using our interactive Thesaurus Search you can browse for terms via a hierarchical, alphabetical, or search words within a concept. These display formats allow you to navigate the thesaurus alphabetically or through the hierarchical relationships between terms. After finding appropriate terms, you can submit a search for those terms in the database descriptor field.

Introduction

Using the NASA Thesaurus, you can search Advanced Technologies Database with Aerospace directly for terms via an A-Z listing or a hierarchical display.These display formats allow you to navigate the thesaurus alphabetically or through hierarchical relationships between terms. After finding the appropriate terms, you can search for those terms in the database.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

 

AB

AB((single command uplink cycle) and (microscopic imaging))

AB(Athena Microscopic Imager Instrument)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Accession Number

AN

AN(A05-18-52610)

Search the unique number for articles and documents.

Author

 

AU

AU(lane, hobson)

AU(lane)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. 

Author  Affiliation

 

AF

AF(Northrup Grumman)

Use this field to retrieve documents associated to a particular institution.

Classification

 

CL

CL(18 Spacecraft Design, Testing and Performance)

CL(18) 

Conference

 

CF

CF(infotech@aerospace 2005)

Use to retrieve papers from a specific conference.

ISSN

 

ISSN

ISSN(0146-3705)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serials Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Language

 

LA

LA(English)

Use to find documents in a specific language.

Publication Date

 

PD

PD(20091220)

Use to find a specific publication date. Can be searched as:

(YYYYMMDD) = (20091220)

(YYYY and month) or (month and YYYY)= (2009 and Dec) or (Dec 2009)

The use of <, >, and – are supported to specify before or after a specific date and a date range.

E.g. for records with publication dates after 2009, use the following format: PD(>2009).

Publication Type

 

RTYPE

RTYPE(conference paper)

Publication Year

 

YR

YR(2005)

Used to search documents published in a specific year.

Publisher

 

PB

PB(american institute of aeronautics and astronautics)

Used to retrieve documents from a specific publisher.

References

 

REF

REF(smith, j)                               

REF((smith, j) NEAR (EVA and lunar strategy))

Use the reference search field to look for articles which cite a specific article, author or journal. It will search all components of a cited reference (cited author, cited publication, cited title or cited year).

Report Number

 

RP

RP(aiaa paper 2005-6919)

RP(2005-6919)

Source

 

SO

SO(Infotech@Aerospoace 2005)

SO(Infotech@Aerospoace and 2005)

Subfile

SFL

SFL(aerospace & high technology)

Subject

 

SU

SU(space robots)                        

SU(autonomous navigation)

Title

 

TI

TI(autonomous and inspection and robot*)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Update

 

UD

UD(2007)

Use to retrieve all records added during a specific database update. The structure of the field is YYYY-MM-DD.

 

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes