Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Black Abolitionist Papers: Email

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest's Black Abolitionist Papers database including content, searching, and viewing results.

Email

How do I email items from Full Record, Marked List or My Archive?
You can email items from the Full Record, Marked List or My Archive Email Items pages by clicking the Email link in the side panel. You must first select the items you wish to email by clicking in the Select this item checkbox corresponding to the item(s) you wish to select or the Select all items checkbox at the top of the page.

You can use the Email Items page to email the items on the Marked List or My Archive page to yourself or others in a variety of formats, and add notes to individual records.

To email your items:

  1. Type your name to indicate who sent the email.
  2. Type your email address and/or any other email address(es) to which you wish to send your items into the Your Email Address box.
  3. Type the subject heading you wish to give your email into the Subject box.
  4. Select the format in which you want the items emailed from the Format options: Plain Text, Citation in format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, Reference Manager and RefWorks citation management software, or Full Text. (The citation format will be Plain Text by default.)
  5. Choose to send the email as either Plain Text or HTML format. Click the HTML option if you wish to include Durable URLs or images (where available) in your email.
  6. Type your comments into the notes boxes below each record in the list.
  7. Click the Send Email button to email your item list to the addresses supplied.


Click Clear form if you wish to clear the form and return to the default settings.

What will I receive in my email?
The contents of your email will depend on the type of items contained in your selection, the format and whether you have chosen to send the email as Plain Text or HTML.

Format
If you have chosen the Citation only option your email will contain just the citations of each item.

If you have chosen the Citation in format compatible with ProCite, EndNote, Reference Manager and RefWorks your email will contain the citation for each item formatted to be used with the citation management software packages listed.

If you have chosen the Full Text option your email will contain the citation for each item and the Full Text will be sent as either a PDF attachment file or HTML within the email. HTML within the email will be sent if there is no PDF version of the Full Text available. For items in your list which are not available as Full Text you will receive the citation only.

Send email as
If you have chosen the Plain Text option your email will not contain any Durable URL links or images.

If you have chosen the HTML Format option your email will contain a Durable URL link for each citation, and will also contain images if available.

From the Email Items page you can also:

  • Open the Print view page to print the current list by clicking the Print view link.
  • Open the Download page to download the current list to your computer by clicking the Download link.