Get the latest news on the Arts databases, with the 'Content Updates' articles in the Support Center:
once in the article, click on to be emailed every time the article is updated.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive (EIMA) is a database which currently offers two thematic collections covering “Music, Radio and The Stage” and “Film and Television”. Combined they offer access to nearly 30 key US and UK trade and consumer magazines covering the broad spectrum of the entertainment industry and media including film, television, popular music, radio, and theatre. The magazines are included cover-to-cover, from first issue to the year 2000,* and the scope encompasses weekly and monthly mass-market trade as well as popular titles.
EIMA collections are designed for students and researchers in a wide range of Arts and Humanities subjects such as Cinema Studies, Popular Music and Media & Communication Studies as well as scholars in adjacent fields such as American and African-American Studies, Celebrity Culture and Twentieth Century Popular Culture. They allow students to find original reviews of films, records, plays, concerts and TV and radio shows as well as factual industry information such as record charts, listings and box office figures. Additionally, they allow users to explore the broader context of popular cultural works, artists, movements and subcultures by reading related features, interviews and news items.
* Our policy is to include every issue in full, from the first to the end of the 2000 publication year. Due to the rarity of some of the original print volumes, however, there small gaps (issues or pages) for some publications.
ProQuest's Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive contains the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000.
The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. The magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews.
Trade papers have long been recognized as potentially the single most valuable research material for scholars of the film and media industries. This database includes several trade magazines which have effectively provided the main historical record for their subject areas throughout the 20th century, such as Variety (1905-2000), Billboard (1894-2000), Broadcasting (1931-2000) and The Stage (1880-2000). Although these titles focus primarily on film, music, TV/radio and theatre respectively, they have between them covered the full range of popular entertainments throughout their history, from music halls, circuses and fairs to jukeboxes, gambling machines and computer games.
Bringing these titles together gives researchers the opportunity to find comprehensive information on specific films, plays, theaters, actors, directors, TV series, film studios, musicians, genres, record labels, subcultures and youth movements. The inclusion of consumer and fan magazines such as American Film (1975-1992) and Musician (1976-1999) means that a search can bring back industry news items, features on technological breakthroughs and in-depth interviews with major artists, together with photographs and illustrations, gossip columns, listings, reviews, charts and statistics. Items such as advertisements, covers and short reviews of films, music singles or other works have been treated as separate documents with accurately-captured titles in order to help researchers find all the relevant material for their search topic.
This database is ideal for scholars studying:
For students of popular music, a selection of magazines give in-depth coverage of musical genres and eras, such as 'British Invasion' pop, reggae, African and Caribbean music, or the rave scene.
Each magazine can be browsed cover-to-cover in full-page, full-text format. Users are able to search for original reviews, interviews, industry news, listings, charts, and features relating to the full range of popular media using advanced search and retrieval functionality.
The database includes:
Collection 1: Music, Radio and The Stage
Collection 2: Film and Television
Coming Fall 2019: Collection 3: Film and Television (part 2)
Collection 3 coverage dates reflect the anticipated date ranges for these titles, with default coverage from the first issue through to 2015 (or publication ceased date). Due to the rarity of source issues for digitization, there will be small gaps for some titles (issues/pages); some of the dates may change slightly.