What is the Congressional Basic subscription?
The Congressional Basic Subscription covers abstracts and indexing for Hearings, Reports, Documents and Committee prints from 1970-present (there are links to HTML text from approximately the mid-1990s)
The Congressional basic subscription also covers bill tracking & profiles, bill text, members and committee coverage, the Daily Congressional Record and the Code of Federal Regulations and Federal Register, and political news.
The optional Historical Indexes includes indexes for published hearings, committee prints, and Serial Set content from 1789-1969, as well as indexes for all never-published hearings that have been released by the National Archives and indexed by CIS staff.
The Congressional basic subscription has abstracts and indexing to all publications and it includes links to an unofficial full text or third-party transcription version of many congressional publications, and the full text of key regulatory and statutory resources. The Congressional digital modules (and the fiche collections) offer a comprehensive collection of the official publications in addition to the abstracts and indexing.
About Congressional Basic in ProQuest Congressional
Use the Basic Search form to retrieve Congressional information by performing searches on congressional publications, including bills, laws and legislative histories. Basic Search now searches the full text of bills, laws, bill tracking reports, and legislative histories, and searches the abstracts, titles, indexing information, and other bibliographic data for Congressional publications. The type-ahead in this and all search forms is based upon our Subject Index thesaurus, not what other researchers have entered. You may now retrieve an unlimited number of results.
Using the Advanced Search menu allows users to search within specific publication types, and perform fielded searches of specific metadata, such as document titles, authors, or Congressional source, and where available online (coverage dates vary), search the full text transcripts of documents that have been abstracted and indexed by CIS editors, such as committee hearings, House & Senate Reports and Documents.
Using the Search by Number form, users can search by legislative or bibliographic citations, such as document, bill, law, or public law number, to find specific publications and/or publications related to that legislation.
Technical and Customer Support Information
Please contact Customer Service If you have questions about:
- Products you should have access to
- Product set-up
- New orders and/or renewal order process
- Account maintenance
- Usage questions
- Renewal questions
Sunday: 2:30 PM - 11:30 PM EDT
Monday - Thursday: 5:00 AM - 11:30 PM EDT
Friday: 5:00 AM - 6:00 PM EDT
Contact phone numbers:
U.S. and Canada: 800-521-0600 x72971
International: +800.4997.4111 or 734-761-4700 x77120
U.S. and Canada: firstname.lastname@example.org
Please contact Technical Support if you have questions about:
- Authentication Issues
- Product Interface or Display
- Product Functionality
- Search Results
- Content-related questions
Monday - Sunday: 8:00 AM-3:00 AM EDT
Contact phone numbers:
U.S. and Canada: +1.800.889.3358
International: +800 4997 4111 or +44 1223 271 496
U.S. and International: email@example.com