Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Documents on British Policy Overseas (DBPO): Searchable Fields

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

Documents on British Policy Overseas offers five Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an organizations name. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: subject, company/organization, person, location, and recipient. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to theLook up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

AB("notes of conversation")

Searches both the document abstract for term or phrase.

Accession Number / ProQuest Document ID

AN

AN(198001790)

Searches both the unique ProQuest document ID (applied to all documents) and the 3rd party document ID or accession number (applied to some databases such as PsycINFO).

All Fields

ALL

ALL(tett, gillian)

ALL searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.

Author

AU

 

AU(Ruban, Lilia)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author. Can be searched as (last name, first name) or (first name last name).

Company/Organization

Org

ORG(Czechoslovak Co-operative Society)

Search for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article.

Document Text

FT

FT(mischief)

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(Hitler)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Location

LOC

LOC(Paris, France)

Search for a specific geographic area or location.

Notes

NT

NT(defense)

Search within the notes field for specified text.

Person

PER

PER("Weizsäcker, Baron Ernst von")

Use to find articles about a person.

Recipient

RC

RC("Curzon, Earl")

Recipient of correspondence.

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(embassy)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. A search for the subject heading “embassy,” will find articles with the subject embassy, british embassy, french embassy or h.m. embassy. To run an exact subject search where only “british embassy” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT.

SU.EXACT(british embassy)