Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

eLibrary Elementary: About

The ultimate elementary full-text reference resource — tailors content from eight media types for the young readers and researcher. Access historical and current multimedia content to support multiple learning styles.

Publication Types

  • Audio/Video
  • Digitized Books
  • Graphic Novels 
  • Images
  • Magazines
  • Maps
  • Newspapers
  • TV & Radio Transcripts
  • Weblinks

Subject Coverage

  • Arts & Crafts
  • English Language Arts
  • Mathematics
  • Science
  • Social Studies
  • Sports & Gym
  • World History
  • Reference

 

Publication Coverage

What is eLibrary Elementary?

                                                                            

eLibrary Elementary  the ultimate elementary reference resource — tailors all the media types and search functionality of eLibrary for the young reader and researcher. It's an easy-to-use general reference database designed specifically to engage and guide younger students.

Students of all ages use eLibrary Elementary's powerful, yet engaging and easy-to-use search interface to find the answers they need from more than 390 magazines, newspapers, books, and transcripts—plus thousands of maps, images, educator-approved websites from Homework Central®, and audio/video titles, all selected as appropriate for elementary school studies.

Colorful icons and a variety of search options ensure beginning learners can find what they need. Users can employ natural language, keyword, topic browse, and publication searches. Searching across seven different media types or any combination of media types in one query saves users time.

Access to historical and current multimedia content engages young learners, enriches text-only information, supports multiple learning styles, and enhances student presentations and research. Our Reference Desk also provides everything young researchers need to begin the research process. And users can create marked lists, and view, print, or email any document or image in one easy step.

 

 

Unlike other aggregated products for the grades 3-8 audience, eLibrary Elementary includes only 100% full-text content and no abstracts. eLibrary’s Lexiles and reading levels correctly match text and cotent complexity, making it easy for early visual learners and struggling readers to find high-interest content at just their reading level. 

 

 

Product Features & Benefits

C O N T E N T

100% Full‐Text Articles | 11.8 million documents | 6.4 million Images & Illustrations | 73 Children's Magazines | 6 Full-run Newspapers & Newswires | 4700+ Current & Historical Maps | 23, 000 Radio & TV Program Transcripts | 11, 000+ Multimedia Audio & Video Files | 30,000+ Screened Educational Weblinks | 300+ Reference Books, including DK Eyewitness & Weekly Reader series

F E A T U R E S

Intuitive interface | Daily updating | Curriculum Standards search | Natural language, Boolean, topic search | Lexiled Reading Levels | Reference Desk | Document Tagging | My List Result Sets | Publication Browse | Created Content Collections (i.e. Bookcarts) | Quiz Assessment Tool | Bookmarking & Sharing | Online Training

 

eLibrary Product Family

The eLibrary Product Family includes eLibrary Elementary, eLibrary for Schools, eLibrary Curriculum Edition, eLibrary Public Library, eLibrary Academic, eLibrary Canada, eLibrary Canada Curriculum Edition, eLibrary Science and eLibrary Australasia

eLibrary Mobile

A mobile version of eLibrary is now available. Direct your Smartphone or Tablet browser to http://m.elibrary.bigchalk.com and authenticate via your account username and password or via IP address. Contact Technical Support if you encounter difficulties.

 

 

Training Videos