Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database: Sample Searches

Links to ...

Please note that the links below will only work if you are authenticated to the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database. For alternative methods of authentication and links to the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database please see the documents in the Additional Materials page.

Sample Searches

Basic Search

You need to write a paper on antimicrobial agents and drug resistance.

  • Type in "antimicrobial agent*" and “drug resistance” into the Basic search box. You can also use the link Basic Search on the left to access ProQuest and start searching.

Note: The links to the various search templates on the left side will only work if you are already authenticated to your organization’s ProQuest Biological Science Collection account. If it does not work, please login through your organization’s library to access the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database directly. If you have questions about accessing your ProQuest databases, please contact your local librarian.

  • Based on the large amount of results that are retrieved, it is a good idea to refine your results using the Narrow results by feature.
  • From the Narrow results by and the Source Type limit, select to view Scholarly Journals.
  • Then Subject limit and select to include Mutations. Click Apply to add the subject limits to your search. Tip: click on More Options to see the complete list of subjects. Click on Subject to reorder the list alphabetically.
  • Also from the Narrow results by, go to the Publication date limit and drag the first gray handle over toward the right side of the bar chart to limit your search to more recent items. Drag the handle over to search on items published from 2010 forward and click update.
  • Go to the top of the results page to the Sort results by pull-down menu (just above the Narrow results by) and resort your items by Most recent first and click Sort.
  • To begin reviewing your results, hover over the Preview link available on each record to view the major fields of the record.
  • For additional record details, select the Abstract/Details link under each record to view the full record.

Mark any records that interest you to save, print, email, cite, export, save to your My Research account, or to view selected items later.

Advanced Search

  • You want to find articles on drinking water in China.
  • From the Advanced Search page and the first pull-down menu in the first search row, select Subject Headings (all).
  • Use the Look up Subjects hyperlink that appears just below the selected field to search for the available and relevant subject terms.
  • Type fresh water and select the option "Begins with" Select fresh water from the list of subject terms. Now it says “You've selected 1 subjects to add” on the screen.
  • Type drinking water and select the option "Begins with" Select drinking water from the list of subject terms. Now it says “You've selected 2 subjects to add” on the screen.
  • Add one more word: Type water supply and select the option "Begins with" Select water supply from the list of subject terms. Now it says “You've selected 3 subjects to add” on the screen.
  • Click Add to search.
  • In the second row, select Location in the pull-down menu, then type China in the first box. 
  • Click search.
  • From the Narrow results by, go to the Publication date limit and click on the last bar in the chart to view documents published since 2010.
  • From the top of the results page (under the search box) select Create alert to receive an email when new results are loaded into Biological Science Collection that meet your search criteria.
  • Enter your email address, choose the email format, and schedule your alert based on when you would like to receive an email of your results and how long you would like the alert to last.
  • Click create alert.

Publications Search

Use this page to locate publications covered in the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database, search within those publications, and browse the available issues.

You want to view the full text of the latest issue of History of Geo- and Space Sciences.

  • From the Publications Search box, enter History of Geo- and Space Sciences.
  • Click on the publication title to be taken to the publication’s search page and the list of available issues.
  • Select the most recent year, month, and issue to view all the documents published in that particular issue.
  • If you want to receive the table of content for any newly published issue, you can create an alert or RSS Feed, which delivers the newest titles to your desk.