Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Quick Start: Executive Branch Documents 1789-1932: About

What are the Executive Branch Documents?

The initial release of the product, part 1, covers 1789-1932 while part 2 covers 1933-1939 (in 2 parts), and part 3 is 1940-45.

For research involving early Federal documents, the Checklist of Public Documents, 1789-1909 has been known as an indispensable and authoritative resource.  Popularly known as the 1909 Checklist, it was the only systematic effort to provide a complete listing of all documents published by the U.S. Government in its first 120 years.  Despite the importance of the documents listed in the Checklist, the contents have been inaccessible to most researchers due to the lack of a subject index.  In is also rare to find a complete collection of the Checklist documents at any single institution.  In addition, we have expanded this effort to include documents from 1910-1932. 

Now the Executive Branch Documents collection (items not printed in the U.S. Serial Set) provides the solution - this product presents a complete annotated bibliography and full text of all Executive Branch Documents listed in the Checklist, indexed by subjects, names, agency report numbers, and SuDocs Classification. 

The Executive Branch Documents collection targets the entire range of executive branch publications listed in the authoritative 1909 Checklist

  • 1909 Checklist was created in 1911 by the U.S. Superintendent of Documents, and is the only systematic effort to provide a complete listing of all documents published by the U.S. Government in its first 120 years
  • This collection targets Checklist content not included in ProQuest Serial Set
  • 96% of the targeted content was located.  Much of the content not located no longer exists

Product URL and Other Resources


Link listed here is a bookmark into a specific document type on the Advanced Search menu in Congressional.

About the Executive Branch Documents

Executive Branch Documents in the interface

link to Executive Branch documents

  

 

  

The search box for the Executive Branch Documents is included in the ProQuest Congressional interface (see arrow at the bottom of the list) so that the legislative and executive branch publications may be searched together, or separately.