Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

EconLit: Searchable Fields

EconLit, published by the American Economic Association, provides bibliographic coverage of a wide range of economics-related literature.

Thesaurus

The EconLit Thesaurus is used to index the EconLit subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced, or Command Line Search. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced, or Command Line Search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

 

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

EconLit offers three Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author, or publication. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publications, and subjects. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Limit To section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

 

AB

AB(econometrics)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Accession number

AN

AN(1395488)

Search the unique number for articles and documents.

Anywhere except full text

ALL

ALL(Ben Bernanke)

Search in all fields in the citation and abstract.

Author

AU

AU(Nate Silver)

Use to find documents written by a particular author.  All Authors are indexed as they appear in the journal.

Use the Author Name lookup to locate variations on the author's name or manually enter an Author search query for both the full first name and the initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author. A query can be structured as (last name, first name) or (first name last name).

Author affiliation

AF

AF(Yale)

Search by affiliation

Availability

AV

AV(www.cepr.org)

This field contains the name and location of the organization from which the document is available.

Copyright

CY

CY(2003)

The year a resource is copyrighted for publication.

Document text

FT

FT(Econometric models)

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Document title

TI

TI(Customer satisfaction)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Document type

DTYPE

DTYPE(Book review)

Use this to find specific document types such as book reviews, reviews and working papers.

Editor

ED

ED(Bernanke)

Used to search for publication editors.

International Standard Book Number

ISBN

ISBN(9780199553433)

This search field looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

International Standard Serials Number

ISSN

ISSN(0022-0515)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Language

LA

LA(Chinese)

Use to locate the original language of the document.

MAINSUBJECT

MAINSUBJECT.EXACT

MAINSUBJECT.EXACT(yoga)

This field can only be searched if the database has a thesaurus. The prefix MAINSUBJECT will be added to your search when you select the term from the Thesaurus or if you type the mnemonic. MAINSUBJECT is a way to limit to the subject heading originating from the thesaurus and does not include the use of terms coming from the location index, person index, company index or other classification terms. To search on terms that incorporate all of these subject and index terms, please use the Subject Heading field (SU).

Notes

NT

NT(JEL)

Supplemental data information found in the Notes fields.

Publisher

PB

PB(Oxford University Press)

Used to retrieve documents from a specific publisher.

Publication title

PUB

PUB(Journal of Economic Literature)

Used to retrieve documents from a specific publication title.

Publication year

YR

YR(2007)

Used to search documents published in a specific year.

References

REF

REF(Greenspan)

Use the reference search field to look for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title).

Reviewed work

RV

RV(Game theory)

Use to identify review of a particular piece. This information will display in the Related Work field in the full record.

Subjects heading (all)

SU

SU(Economic theory)

Use this to search controlled vocabulary from the EconLit thesaurus. For more information on the EconLit Thesaurus see the box on the left. Terms searched will also be searching Classification and Identifiers.

Tag

TAG

TAG(Subprime)

Used to search for Tags attached to articles. This field is user generated.

Update

UD

UD(2013-01-01)

Used to retrieve all records added during a specific database update. The structure of the field is YYYY-MM-DD.