Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Education Collection: Searchable Fields

Over 1,000 full-text journals and 18,000 dissertations, supporting research on the theory and practice of education

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

The Education Collection offers six Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication title, subject, company/organization, person, and location. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up (i.e., "Look up Authors").

Click the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the "Add to search" button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection. Note that you may select multiple terms and join them with a Boolean operator AND or OR before clicking the "Add to Search" button.

Thesaurus

The ProQuest Thesaurus and the ERIC Thesaurus are used to index the Education Collection subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

In the Education Collection, there are different subject types and in addition to the all encompassing subject field, there is also a separate subject field for company/organization, person, and location. These are also included in the searchable fields table to the right.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced or Command Line. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line search page, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. Run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

 

 

AB("charter schools")

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Accession Number 

AN

AN(ED502117)

Searches for the accession number for quick retrieval of a specific document.

Anywhere Except Full Text

ALL

ALL(maslow, abraham)

ALL searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.

Author

AU

 

AU(maslow, abraham) or AU(abraham maslow)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author. Can be searched as (last name, first name) or (first name last name).

Cited Author

CAU

CAU(maslow) or CAU(maslow, abraham)

Use to search for an author that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Document Title

CTI

CTI(flipped)

Use to search for document titles that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Date

CYR

CYR(February 1991)

Use to search for publication dates that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Title

CPUB

CPUB(academia)

Use to search for a publication title that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Company/Organization

ORG

 

ORG(Sylvan)  

Search for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article.  Type in the organization or use the look up for a more accurate search.

Document Text

FT

FT(right brained learning)

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(hemispheric)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Location

LOC

LOC(Baton Rouge)

Search for a specific geographic area or location.

Person

PER

PER(Hugh Jackman) 

Use to find articles about a person.

Publication Title

PUB

 

PUB(Action in Teacher Education)

Use to search for a specific publication such as the journal or book title.

References

REF

REF(Parker Palmer)

Use the reference search field to look for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title).

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(special education)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject.