Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Education Database: Searchable Fields

A guide to all aspects of the Education Database including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Thesaurus

The ProQuest Thesaurus is used to index the Education Database subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

In Education Database, there are different subject types and in addition to the all encompassing subject field, there is also a separate subject field for company/organization, person, and location. These are also included in the searchable fields table to the right.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced or Command Line. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line search page, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. Run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

The Education Database offers six Look ups or browsable indexes, so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or a journal title. You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the following searchable fields: author, publication title, subject, company/organization, person, and location. For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browseable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up (i.e., "Look up Authors").

Click the Look up link and then you will see a browseable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the "Add to search" button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection. Note that you may select multiple terms and join them with a Boolean operator AND or OR before clicking the "Add to Search" button.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

 AB

AB("school counseling")

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Abstracts are available from 1987.

Anywhere except fulltext

ALL

ALL(altruism)

ALL searches for keywords in the abstract, author, title, and all additional indexed fields, but not the full-text associated with the record.

Author

AU

 

AU(Schneck, Paulette M)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author.

Cited Author

CAU

AU(Perrin, D)

Use to search for an author that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Document Title

CTI

CTI("decontextualized language intervention")

Use to search for document titles that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Date

CYR

CYR(2009)

Use to search for publication dates that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Title

CPUB

CPUB("Social Work Research")

Use to search for a publication title that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Classification 

CC 

CC(8306: School and educational services)

CC(8306)

Use this field to located records index with location or industry classification codes.

Company/Organization

ORG

 

ORG("World Health Organization") 

Search for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article.

Country of Publication    

CP

CP(Netherlands)

Search for results based upon the country in which they were published.

Digital Object Identifiers

DOI

DOI(10.1108/09654281211275863)

Search for documents with DOIs using the DOI search.

Document Feature

DF

DF(References)

Use to search for features in an article such as charts, diagrams, illustrations, photographs, and references.

Document Number

AN

AN(1105258668)

Searches both the ProQuest document ID.

Document Text

FT

FT("No Child Left Behind Act")

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Document Title

TI

 

TI("Career Development Trends")

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Document Type

DType

DType(Article)

DType(Case Study)

Use this to find specific document types such as article, business case, company profile, and market research.

ISBN

ISBN

ISBN(9780749451325)

This search field looks for the 12 and 13 digit International Standard Book Number (ISBN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

ISSN

ISSN

 

ISSN(08894019)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Issue

ISS

ISS(3)

Use to search the issue number of a resource.

Journal Subject 

JSU 

JSU("Children and Youth-About")

JSU(Psychology)

Locate records using the journal's assigned subject coverage. Also see the Publications page and use the Subject narrowing facet to refine the list of publications by journal subject.

Language

LA

LA(Spanish)

Use to locate the original language of the document.

Location

LOC

LOC("Pacific Northwest")

LOC("Denver Colorado")

LOC(Sweden)

Search for a specific geographic area or location.

NAICS Code   

NAICS

NAICS(519130)

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy. Use this field to locate records with companies or organizations with designated NAICS codes.

Page(s)       

 PG

PG(221-230)

PG (14)

Search for specific page numbers or page ranges.

Person

PER

PER(Dewey, John)

PER(Dewey, John (1859-1952))

Use to find articles about a person.

Product Name

NP

NP(Kindle)

Use to find articles about a specific product.

Publication date

PD

PD(Sep 2012)

Use to find a specific publication date.

Publication Title

PUB

 

PUB("The Career Development Quarterly")

Use to search by a specific publication or publications.

Publication Subject

 JSU

JSU(Education--Teaching Methods And Curriculum) 

Use the Publication (a.k.a., Journal) Subject search field to locate titles indexed with specific subject terms.

HINT: From the Publications page, click the Publications Subject narrowing facet then select More Options to review the entire list of Publication Subjects.

Publication Year

PY 

PY(2004)

PY(2010-2012)

Search for records by the year of publication or use a range of years.

Publisher

PB 

PB("Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education")

PB("Springer Science & Business Media")

Use this field to search by publisher name.

References

REF

REF(Best, J. H.)

Use the reference search field to look for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title).

Source type

SType

STYPE(newspapers)

Use to find a specific source type such as books, newspapers, and scholarly journals.

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU("Academic achievement")

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific      subject. A search for the subject heading “accounts,” will find articles with the subject accounts, health savings accounts or checking accounts. To run an exact subject search where only “accounts” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT.

SU.EXACT(accounts)

Tags

TAG

TAG("adult education")

Use to search for Tags attached to articles. This field is user generated and only searches Tags that were made public by ProQuest users.

Volume

VO

VO(60)

Use to search for the volume of a resource.