Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Education Database: Sample Searches

A guide to all aspects of the Education Database including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Links to ProQuest Education Journals

Please note that the links below will only work if you are authenticated to Education Database via your library's subscription.

Sample Searches

Basic Search      

You need to write a paper on Generation Y and Millennials seeking 4-year degrees as online/distance students.

  • Type ("Generation Y" OR millennials) AND "higher education" AND online into the Basic Search box or use the widget on the left.  

Note: The widget will only work if you are already authenticated to your organization’s Education Database account. If it does not work, please login through your organization’s library to access Education Database directly. If you have questions about accessing your ProQuest databases, please contact your local librarian.

  • Based on the large amount of results that are retrieved, it is a good idea to refine your results using the Narrow results by feature.
  • From the Narrow results by and the Source Type limit, select to view Scholarly Journals.
  • Then click More options under the Subject limit and select to include colleges & universities, distance learning, generation Y, generations, and online learning. Click "Apply to" add the subject limits to your search.
  • Also from the Narrow results by, go to the Date limit and drag the first gray tab toward the right side of the bar chart to limit your search to more recent items. Drag the handle over to search on items published from 2009 – 2011 and click "Update."
  • Go to the top of the results page to the Sort results by pull-down menu (just above the Narrow results by) and resort your items by Date (most recent first) and click "Sort."
  • To begin reviewing your results, hover over the Preview link available on each record to view the major fields of the record.
  • For additional record details, select the Citation & Abstract link under each record to view the full record.
  • Mark any records that interest you to save, print, email, cite, export, save to your My Research account, or to view selected items later.

Advanced Search

You want to find conference papers and proceedings as well as report regarding the US "No Child Left Behind" Act and its iterations.

  • From the Advanced Search page, type "no child left behind" in the first search box.
  • Select "OR" from the second row Boolean operators menu. Select the second pull-down menu in the second search row, select "Subject Headings (all)."
  • From the second row search pull-down menu select "Subject Headings (all)." Use the Look up Subjects hyperlink that appears just below the selected field to search for the available and relevant subject terms.
  • Type no child and select the option "Begins with (enter at least 2 characters)."
  • Select no child left behind act 2001-us from the list of subject terms and click "Add to search."
  • In the Advanced Search page, go to the Search options section and adjust the Date range pull-down menu to search Last 3 years.
  • Click Search.
  • Consider using ProQuest Smart Search/Suggested subjects to run a new search using subjects related to your current search. From the list of Suggested subjects, select No Child Left Behind Act 2001-US AND Academic Achievement.

Note: When you select a suggested subject from ProQuest Smart Search, it removes any of your previous limits (such as the date range we selected earlier for Last 3 years).

  • From the Narrow results by, go to the Date limit and click on the last bar in the chart to view documents published in 2012.
  • From the top of the results page (under the search box) select Create alert to receive an email when new results are loaded into the database that meet your search criteria.
  • Enter your email address, choose the email format, and schedule your alert based on when you would like to receive an email of your results and how long you would like the alert to last.
  • Click "Create alert."

Publications

Use this page to locate publications covered in this database, search within those publications, and browse the available issues.

You want to view the latest issue of Journal of Literary & Cultural Disability Studies.

  • From the Publications Search box, enter Cultural Disability.
  • Click on the publication title to be taken to the publication’s search page and the list of available issues.
  • To browse the most recent issue indexed, select the most recent year, month, and issue to view all the documents published in that particular issue.