Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Early English Books Online (EEBO): Full Record

Full Record Tips

 

1. View This Document As

Navigate to the various document views and formats. See the Results Page of this guide for a definition of each view.

2. Print Record As

Choose to print the record in the Text (Short Record) or Text (Full Record) format. Exporting to bibliographic managers is also available from this list and includes formats appropriate for ProCite, EndNote, Reference Manager, and RefWorks.

3. Indexing

Where available, the following details will display about the record you have selected:

Title: The full title(s) of the document as it appears in the original record
Additional titles: Alternative titles for the document. If you click an additional title, EEBO will execute an exact search for that title and take you to a List of Results.
Author: Standardised author name(s)
Other Authors
Variant name form: pseudonym or 'also known as' information, if available
Author role
Imprint: Publication information including publisher location, publisher, and publication date
Date: Date, corrected if necessary
Bib name/number: Name of bibliographies that include the item, and the number given by the bibliographer
Physical description: The number of pages or volumes, plus any additional information
Preceding/Succeeding title: any titles that the periodical used to be or will be known as
Notes: Comments, including additional author, title and editor information
Copy from: The source library for the original document
UMI collection/reel number: UMI microfilm collection / reel number and position. Collections include:

 

  • Early English Books, 1475-1640 (abbreviated STC)
  • Early English Books, 1641-1700 (abbreviated Wing)
  • Thomason Tracts (abbreviated TT)

Subject: Standardised Library of Congress Subject Heading(s)

The Author, Other author, Uniform title, Subject, periodical Preceding title and periodical Succeeding title fields appear as links in the Full Record. You can launch a search for a particular author, title or subject by clicking one of these links. You will be taken to a new Search Results page listing all records that contain the term you have clicked on.

You can read the EEBO Introduction for the work (if available) by clicking the Read the EEBO Introduction to this work link.

The EEBO Introductions Series provides concise and informative commentaries on some of the less well known texts in EEBO. Each contribution to the series has been prepared by a specialist in the field of early modern studies and offers insights into a range of contextual, bibliographical, and reception-based issues associated with a given EEBO text.

 4. Navigation

Return to the previous results page by clicking Back to Results or click Next Record to advance to the next item in the results page.

5. Durable URL

You can obtain the durable link for a full record by clicking the Durable URL button. A pop-up window will open displaying the URL; you can copy and paste it into your documents, email, or add it to your bookmarks.

 

 

 

Full Record