Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Early English Books Online (EEBO): Full Text

Full Text Tips

Full Text icons and full text availability are only accessible to subscribing members of the Text Creation Partnership (TCP).

By clicking on the Full Text icon in the Search Results page, linked from the Context of Matches or Table of Contents pages, you will be able to view the document in Keyed ASCII Full Text.

Note: The majority of full text pages are very large, therefore clicking on the fulltext icon of a record that exceeds 200kb in size will take you to a warning page which will offer you the choice of either viewing the entire document in full text or, using the Table of Contents to find a section the document.

Various icons and links are available throughout the text to facilitate the navigation of the Full text. All or some icons will appear as follows:

  •  From a Keyword search, marks every occurrence of your search term in the text.
  •  Next Hit: Scrolls the page directly to the next hit.
  •  Previous Hit: Scrolls the page directly to the previous hit.
  •  Note: Mouse over the icon to read the margin notes or click on the icon to display just that note.
  •  Document Image: click this link to go directly to an image of the page you are viewing in full text.

 

Some of the full text pages have gaps within the text, and these gaps are represented by an ellipsis in square brackets [...]. However, where the reason for the gap in the text has been identified, we have included a more meaningful symbol or piece of text (based on information from the TCP).

 

Where the full text contains special characters which will not display as a known character, we have replaced them with their name or a short description within curly brackets {}.

The display generally follows the source works in its rendition and alignment of text. The following standard display formats have been used:

  • Main headings and captions are in bold.
  • Small capitals are displayed in bold. Signatures (fictional or otherwise) giving the author and/or place and/or date of composition at the beginning or end of an element are generally displayed centred. Arguments and epigraphs generally display in italics and are centred.
  • Page numbers are displayed in square brackets.
  • Line indents reflect the indents in the copy text. Runover metrical lines are not indented since line length can vary depending on the size of the browser window.
  • Lacunae (i.e. gaps in the copy text) are marked by '[.....]'.
  • The positions notes, including authorial notes and notes supplied by the database editors, and are indicated by icons.
  • Illuminated letters appear in a larger font and in red.

 

1. View This Document As

Navigate to the various document views and formats. See the Results Page of this guide for a definition of each view.

2. Table of Contents

Click to open the table of contents in a separate window. Clicking on your section of choice will then bring that section up in the EEBO full text window (this is a good choice for printing specific sections rather than the entire document).

3. Printable Version

This will bring up a printer friendly version of the full text and removes the hyperlinks throughout the text. 

4. First Hit

Scrolls the page directly to first hit (where you keyword appears within the text). From there, you can then navigate to the next hit.

5. View Document Image

Click this link to go directly to an image of the page you are viewing in full text.

Full Text