Early English Books Online (EEBO) is now located on both the ProQuest Platform (shown on this guide) and the Legacy Platform (accessible here).
Dual access will last until end of 2019, at which time the legacy instance will be decommissioned and automatically redirect to the new Early English Books Online site on the main ProQuest platform.
Read more about the benefits of the migration to the unified ProQuest platform for EEBO
and more details on which are the differences between the 2 platforms.
From the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this incomparable collection now contains more than 146,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Libraries possessing this collection find they are able to fulfill the most exhaustive research requirements of graduate scholars - from their desktop - in many subject areas, including English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
To accompany the citations and page images, a separate initiative, the Text Creation Partnership (TCP) created accurate full-text transcriptions for a large selection of EEBO works. The TCP partnership began in 1999 as an innovative collaboration between ProQuest LLC, the University of Michigan, and Oxford University. The aim was to convert half of EEBO into fully-searchable, TEI-compliant SGML/XML texts. This collaboration extended to a funding partnership with JISC and a collection of libraries so that now TCP texts are jointly owned by more than 150 libraries worldwide, creating a significant database of foundational scholarship.
All scholars of EEBO can seamlessly move between the text transcriptions and the corresponding original page images on the ProQuest interface. ProQuest’s expert digitization and indexing amplifies the benefit of the full text from TCP, enabling precision searching – made possible through tools that address variant spellings and word forms.
Selection of Titles for Transcription
First printed book published in England.
Recueil des histoires de Troie. Lefèvre, Raoul.  p. Bruges: Printed by William Caxton and, probably, Colard Mansion, 1473.