Skip to main content
ProQuest LibGuides Banner ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Early English Books Online (EEBO) on the ProQuest Platform

 

EEBO on the ProQuest platform - Key Benefits

FOR RESEARCHERS

  • State-of-the-art platform.  EEBO is now hosted on the ProQuest Platform, which was awarded The Charleston Advisor’s  Annual Readers’ Choice Award for Best Interface. It also means that:
    • EEBO (similarly to all other products already on the ProQuest platform) will benefit from future improvements made as part of our ongoing platform development program.
  • Responsive platform. The modernized interface will consider the devices users are accessing the platform with, and the display will match the device (large monitors, standard desktops, laptops, tablets and smart phones).
  • Global Reach. The ProQuest platform user interface is available in 19 different languages to make it easier for non-English scholars to make the best out of the EEBO search options.
  • Modern research experience, guiding discovery, access and management of content sources. In addition to an overall modern research experience, users will benefit from the following search enhancements:
    • Ability to search using USTC subject classification
    • Ability to filter your results post-search using multiple facets such as author, USTC subject classification, place of publication or language
    • Ability to see your results over time with the results page histogram
    • Ability to see your search terms highlighted in the list of results or the document pages
    • Ability to see your search terms in context within the full text directly on the list of results using the Keywords in Context feature
    • Ability to email, print, cite or export records directly from the list of results
    • Ability to view up to 100 results per page
  • Improved content viewing experience. The new platform presents EEBO’s valuable content in the most intuitive and user-friendly way:
  • Larger thumbnails for book pages on the Thumbnail view
  • Larger images for browse
  • Interactive Image Viewer that allows users to zoom, pan, rotate and navigate the books without the need to leave the site
  • Better representation of the content. Where multiple copies of a given book exist in EEBO (i.e. multiple copies typically originating from different source libraries), a separate record has been created for each individual copy with links provided to each sister copy. Similarly, individual records have been created for each issue within the Thomason Tracts periodicals, again with links provided to each sister issue in the periodical concerned. This has increased the number of items in EEBO from 132,000 to 146,000.
  • Text Creation Partnership transcriptions included in the new EEBO interface! Over 60,000 EEBO texts, transcribed as part of the Text Creation Partnership project, have been included in the new instance of EEBO! Scholars can consult thumbnail images of each page interleaved with the searchable full text of all transcribed works! Approximately 41% of the entire collection has been transcribed through the Text Creation Partnership project, which completed in 2015.
  • Related items suggestions. When viewing a document in EEBO the platform will suggest similar related items that might be of interest to the researcher.  
  • Better post-processing tools. There is a variety of new options available for users that want to export their work, in addition to the features that legacy EEBO offered:
  • Faster PDF downloads
  • Ability to cite a book in more than 30 different citation styles
  • Easy-to-use email and print options
  • Ability to export works to Google Drive and Microsoft OneDrive
  • Personalization features. The ProQuest platform provides users with a number of additional tools and services if they create a personal My Research account:
  • Ability to save records and searches to your personal account for future sessions
  • Ability to customize some of the preferences settings when searching EEBO – default sort order, number of results, interface language, spelling variant options, preferred citation style, etc.
  • Ability to set up alerts or RSS feeds
  • Cross-searchable with other entitled ProQuest databases, including Literature Online (LION) and Early European Books (EEB).
  • Search Widgets. Do you want to embed an EEBO search box on your website, blog or LMS? You can do that now by creating a widget from the ProQuest platform. Just take the code that is generated by the platform and paste it into your tool of choice.

FOR ADMINISTRATORS:

  • Advanced Usage Reporting capabilities. If you want to get some insights into the usage of EEBO at your library you can do that now more easily:
  • There is a larger variety of usage reports available (e.g. searches by search mode)
  • You can schedule automatic delivery of usage reports so that you get them via email on your inbox every month
  • The ProQuest platform is COUNTER 5 compliant
  • Richer library branding capabilities. The ProQuest platform allows administrators to set up 2 different branding images, 2 hyperlinks and an additional block of custom text that will raise the visibility of your library among your users.
  • Extended authentication options. More authentication methods are available for those libraries that need a more custom solution to their authentication needs.
  • Easy Maintenance. Many of the aspects of maintaining your EEBO subscription are now the same as maintaining your other ProQuest Platform products:
  • Librarians no longer have to train staff on a standalone EEBO interface

You can manage your EEBO and other ProQuest platform databases from the same ProQuest Administrator Module, including usage, authentication methods, interface settings, etc.


What's New for EEBO on the ProQuest platform

  • Inclusion of TCP full text for all records
  • Inclusion of EEBO MARC records for all records
  • 146,000 total titles migrated vs 132,000 total titles available on the legacy platform
  • Based upon careful consideration and customer feedback, we have decided not to duplicate the ECCO linking functionality in the new ProQuest EEBO. This feature was removed due to extremely low usage on the Chadwyck-Healey legacy instance of EEBO.

Early Modern Books

Early English Books Online can be viewed in isolation or as part of Early Modern Books (EMB), which provides an integrated search and browse experience across both Early European Books (EEB) and EEBO.  Materials can be searched and/or browsed by the following, amongst other options:

  • Date
  • Author
  • Country of Publication
  • Language 
  • USTC classification

Searching both English printed titles alongside European titles could provide new discoveries of works that have travelled geographically and linguistically across Europe.

EEBO and EMB, alongside any other databases that your institution has access to, are selected via the Change Databases menu in the ProQuest Platform’s main navigation, which appears on every page.