Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Ethnic NewsWatch: About

A guide to all aspects of Ethnic NewsWatch including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Ethnic Groups & Subject Coverage

Ethnic NewsWatch comprehensively covers the following ethnic categories:

  • African American/Caribbean/African
  • Arab/Middle Eastern
  • Asian/Pacific Islander
  • European/Eastern European
  • Hispanic
  • Jewish
  • Native People

Subject Coverage:

  • Human Rights
  • Activism
  • Ethnic groups
  • Minorities
  • Culture
  • Religion
  • Independent press
  • Local, national, and international events
  • Ethnic studies
  • Multi-ethnic
  • Multi-cultural
  • African American
  • Caribbean
  • African
  • Hispanic American
  • Native American
  • Indigenous peoples
  • Asian
  • Pacific Islanders
  • Arab Americans
  • Middle Eastern Americans
  • European Americans
  • Eastern European
  • Jewish Americans

Publication Types

  • Conference Papers & Proceedings
  • Dissertations & Theses
  • Magazines
  • Newspapers
  • Reports
  • Scholarly Journals
  • Trade Journals
  • Wire Feeds

What is Ethnic NewsWatch?

Ethnic NewsWatch was created in 1991 as a resource to comprehensively cover minority issues in periodical literature. A ground-breaking resource from the beginning, Ethnic NewsWatch remains the only multi-cultural and multi-ethnic database of current periodicals. It contains a sterling collection of ethnic and minority press content from the U.S. and Canada, often being the only online source of these publications. The publications include scholarly journals, trade journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, as well as important grass-roots publications primarily from minority presses themselves and in full-text. Ethnic NewsWatch provides a broad and deep, dynamic collection of more than two million full-text articles from 390 publications, from 1970 forward. 

Growth of content

Ethnic NewsWatch continually adds new titles and updates its current set of content daily. During a tumultuous publishing environment that has seen many independent and small presses go out of business, Ethnic NewsWatch has seen a title growth of 20% since 2009. New titles recently added include Asian American Policy ReviewChinese Literature Today, and the NABJ Journal from the National Association of Black Journalists.

While Ethnic NewsWatch is noted for its coverage of grassroots, community and independent press publications, it is also heavily used for scholarly research. As a result, in 2012 new types of content were added such as dissertations and scholarly working papers. These selected dissertations and working papers will provide context and deeper research into the issues and topics of ethnic studies. To further assist in scholarly studies of ethnic studies, over the last year ProQuest has enabled over 85% of its scholarly journals with citation linking. The new ProQuest platform displays all cited references and includes a Reference Search feature that allows one to search for a citation to see how many articles cite it. These citations are available in Ethnic NewsWatch for its included scholarly journals and dissertations.

Ethnic NewsWatch: A History

This full-text companion database provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content in Ethnic NewsWatch, with materials dating from 1959–1989. Over 30 titles are presented, most of which cannot be accessed online through any other source.

Ethnic NewsWatch: A History presents the other sides of the stories on local, national, and international events that changed the course of history across three turbulent decades—the civil rights struggle, Vietnam War protests, dramatic changes in immigration law, trickle-down economics, and the status of migrant workers. With more than 300,000 articles, this supplement database gives users access to the real stories of the 60s, 70s, and 80s.

Unique content

There is no other periodical resource which so thoroughly covers ethnic studies as a whole and which presents unique ethnic presses and publications. Ethnic NewsWatch™ comprehensively covers these ethnic categories:

  • African American/Caribbean/African
  • Arab/Middle Eastern
  • Asian/Pacific Islander
  • European/Eastern European
  • Hispanic
  • Jewish
  • Native People

A sampling of titles includes Kurdish Life, Minority Business Entrepreneur, Asian Week, Jewish Exponent, Seminole Tribune, Appalachian Heritage, Irish Voice, Chinese America, Islamic Horizons, The Filipino Express, Hmong Times, and Black Masks. A majority of this content is exclusive to the resource and is not available in any other database.

Another unique feature is the availability of Spanish language content. Of the more than 2.5 million articles contained in the collection, nearly a quarter are presented in Spanish, making Ethnic NewsWatch a useful bilingual resource of current periodicals.

ProQuest Platform Videos

Selection Policy

The Ethnic NewsWatch selection policy focuses on community, grass-roots, and independent presses that are not typically found in other aggregated databases. Ethnic NewsWatch is the only resource that is multi-ethnic and multi-cultural with mostly publications from the ethnic/minority presses themselves. All articles from a publication are indexed.

 

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: