Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

ProQuest Environmental Science Collection: About

A guide to all aspects of ProQuest Environmental Science Collection including content, searching, and viewing results on the ProQuest platform.

Subject Coverage

  • Agriculture
  • Air pollution
  • Control technologies
  • Endangered species
  • Energy
  • Environmental design
  • Environmental education
  • Environmental law and policy
  • Environmental safety
  • Geophysical and climate change
  • Global warming
  • International environmental policy
  • Land use and pollution
  • Marine pollution
  • Noise pollution
  • Population
  • Population studies
  • Radiological contamination
  • Resource management
  • Solid and toxic waste
  • Sustainable development
  • Toxicological effects
  • Transportation
  • Waste management
  • Water pollution
  • Wildlife / biodiversity

Publication Types

  • Scientific journals
  • Conference proceedings
  • Reports
  • Monographs
  • Books
  • Government publications

What is ProQuest Environmental Science Collection?

What is ProQuest Environmental Science Collection?

ProQuest Environmental Science Collection is a multidisciplinary database which provides comprehensive coverage of the literature relating to environmental sciences dating from 1967 to the present.

Abstracts and citations are drawn from over 6,000 serials. Beyond the mainstream peer reviewed journals in this field this resource also provides abstracts of hard-to-get, low circulation grey literature publications  (conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications), sometimes with links back to the full text (typically open access repositories). The database also includes good coverage of international content including non English language content. Also includes over 10,000 Environmental Impact statements.

Over 1,000 full-text publications from around the world are featured, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, reports, conference proceedings, newswires and conference proceedings. The collection also includes over 1,700 full-text Environmental Impact Statements (U.S.).

ProQuest Environmental Science Collection is a product comprised of several sub-databases which can be searched individually or collectively:

  • Aqualine 
  • Aquatic Science & Fisheries Abstracts (ASFA) 3: Aquatic Pollution & Environmental Quality 
  • Bacteriology Abstracts (Microbiology B) 
  • Biotechnology Research Abstracts
  • COS Conference Papers Index
  • Ecology Abstracts
  • Environment Abstracts
  • Environmental Engineering Abstracts
  • Environmental Impact Statements: Digests
  • Environmental Impact Statements: Full Text
  • Health & Safety Science Abstracts
  • Industrial and Applied Microbiology Abstracts (Microbiology A)
  • Pollution Abstracts 
  • ProQuest Environmental Science Journals
  • Risk Abstracts
  • Sustainability Science Abstracts
  • Toxicology Abstracts
  • TOXLINE
  • Water Resources Abstracts

ProQuest Platform Videos

Selection Policy

ProQuest Environmental Science Collection editorial staff strive to meet the current requirements of the environmental science research community and to anticipate future needs. Selection of resources is a continuous process affected by the changing curriculum as well as ensuring we are meeting the needs.

Publication Coverage