Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Family Health Database: About

The Family Health Database offers international coverage dating back to 1988 for an enormous range of public health subjects from sports injuries to eye care to pandemics to nutrition, and more.

Subject Coverage

  • Women’s health
  • Nutrition
  • Midwifery
  • Eye care
  • Dentistry

Publication Type

  • Scholarly Journals
  • Trade Journals
  • Magazines
  • Reports
  • Books

 

What is the Family Health Database?

The Family Health Database offers international coverage dating back to 1988 for an enormous range of public health subjects, including pandemics, disaster preparedness, and obesity. Particularly of interest to public library users, the public health topics covered in the collection range from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry. Provided by over 190 publishers, over 350 full-text magazines, newspapers, scholarly journals, and trade publications and over 300 health video clips from INTELECOM are included in the collection. Key titles include American Family Physician, Psychiatric Times, Psychology Today, Family Relations, Journal of Youth and Adolescence, Men’s Health, Women’s Health Weekly, and Pediatrics for Parents.

More about the Family Health Database

  • The Family Health Database provides the general researcher with fast and easy access to reliable medical information from trustworthy and recognizable medical publishers.
  • Unlike other providers who select content for advanced users and professionals, ProQuest’s health and medical information supports learning and research.
  • Covers an enormous range of subjects of value in the public library context – from sports injuries to women’s health, from food and nutrition to midwifery, from eye care to dentistry.
  • Provides over 500 publications, including essential general medical journals like The New England Journal of Medicine and popular health focused magazines such as Men’s Health, Prevention, and Organic Gardening.
  • ProQuest’s easy to use interface gives researchers the capability to search comprehensively with precision and speed.

As content is only valuable if it is discoverable, the collection is presented on the ProQuest platform and its over 350 titles are discoverable through The Summon® Service from ProQuest, OCLC WorldCat, Ex Libris Primo Central, PubMed, and Google Scholar (when enabled). Plus, through the ebooks tab on the ProQuest results page, researchers can cross search their organization's ProQuest ebook holdings (when available) alongside their ProQuest platform database content.

In addition, researchers benefit from robust information management and workflow tools and functionality integrated into the platform that make this content appropriate for non-expert and non-English speaking researchers as well as subject matter experts. These user-friendly features include the ability to cite results in numerous citation styles, save as a PDF or other document formats, save searches, and export documents to reference management tools like RefWorks as well as a Health Sciences RSS feed to provide updates on full-text content.

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: