Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

Family Health Database: Searchable Fields

The Family Health Database offers international coverage dating back to 1988 for an enormous range of public health subjects from sports injuries to eye care to pandemics to nutrition, and more.

Thesaurus

The ProQuest Thesaurus is used to index the Family Health Database subject field. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

In Family Health Database there are different subject types and in addition to the all encompassing subject field, there is also a separate subject field for location, publisher location and author affiliation. These are also included in the searchable fields table to the right.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced and Command Line Search. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line Search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Subjects are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms.

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

Family Health Database offers two Look ups or browsable indexes.  You can find the Look up links in the advanced search page and they are available for the author and subject fields.  For a description of these fields, please see the searchable fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search (through the Look up terms link).

To use and locate a Look up or browsable index, select the field from the advanced search pull-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up. Other Look ups and browsable indexes will be listed in the Search options section of the advanced search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field. There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract

AB

 

 

AB(child welfare worker)

We use the journal-provided abstract with little or no modification, or have members from our editorial team write an abstract from scratch, drawing on the article’s text and concepts. Our team’s goal is to make the article’s point as clearly and succinctly as possible.

Abstracts are available from 1971.

Accession Number / ProQuest Document ID

AN

AN(198001790)

Searches both the unique ProQuest document ID (applied to all documents) and the 3rd party document ID or accession number (applied to some databases such as PsycINFO).

All Fields

ALL

ALL(tett, gillian)

ALL searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search, but does not include a search on the full text.

Author

AU

 

AU(Ruban, Lilia)

Use to find documents written by a particular author. Try searching on both the full first name and initials in order to retrieve all publications by a specific author. Can be searched as (last name, first name) or (first name last name).

Author Affiliation

 AF

AF(Michigan)

Use to search on additional author information such as institutional affiliation, location of institution, and if provided, the email address of the author can sometimes appear in this field.

Cited Author

CAU

CAU(Greenspan)

Use to search for an author that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Document Title

CTI

CTI(Mortgages)

Use to search for document titles that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Date

CYR

CYR(October 1987)

Use to search for publication dates that are part of the Cited References section of a record.

Cited Publication Title

CPUB

CPUB(economist)

Use to search for a publication title that is part of the Cited References section of a record.

Classification Codes

CC

CC(1120)

Use Classification Codes when searching specific topics. Classification Codes are a fast way to precisely target a search by topic, industry or market, geographical area, or article type.

Company/Organization

ORG

 

ORG(Ford) 

Search for a company or other organizations featured prominently in an article.

Digital Object Identifiers

DOI

DOI(10.1007/s00180-010-0212-6)

Search for documents with DOIs using the DOI search. It is a unique identifier assigned to a document that is registered through the International DOI Foundation.

Document Feature

DF

DF(Chart)

Use to search for features in an article such as charts, diagrams, illustrations, and photographs.

Document Text

FT

FT(Mortgage backed securities)

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Document Title

TI

 

TI(Joplin)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article.

Document Type

DType

DType(book)

Use this to find specific document types such as article, book, essay, and market research.

ISSN

ISSN

 

ISSN(00036846)

This search field looks for the eight digit International Standard Serial Number (ISSN), where available. Hyphens are optional.

Issue

ISS

ISS(11)

Use to search the issue number of a resource.

Language

LA

LA(Spanish)

Use to locate the original language of the document.

Location

LOC

LOC(Austin)

Search for a specific geographic area or location.

NAICS

NAICS

NAICS(334111)

The NAICS code defines the economic activity of a business as defined by the US Census Bureau. This information often appears within the Company/Organization section of the record.

Person

PER

PER(Steve Jobs)

Use to find articles about a person.

Place of Publication

CP 

CP(New York)

Use to locate articles published in a specific place. This will search for the city and county of publication.

Product Name

NP

NP(Kindle)

Use to find articles about a specific product.

Publication date

PD

PD(19871020)

Use to find a specific publication date. Can be searched as:

 (YYYYMMDD) = (19871020)

 (YYYY and month) or (month and YYYY)= (1987 and Oct)

 (YYYY) = 1987

The use of <, >, and – are supported to specify before or after a specific date and a date range.

Publication Title

PUB

 

PUB(Journal of Learning Disabilities)

Use to search for a specific publication such as the journal or book title.

Publisher

 PB

PB(BioMed Central Ltd.)

Use to search for the publisher of the source such as the journal publisher.

References

REF

REF(Greenspan)

Use the reference search field to look for the data in a cited reference. It will search all of the main components of a cited reference (cited author, cited document title, cited publication date, and cited publication title).

Source type

SType

STYPE(newspapers)

Use to find a specific source type such as books, newspapers, and scholarly journals.

Subject Heading(All)

SU

SU(Accounts)

Use the subject search field to look for articles about a specific subject. A search for the subject heading “accounts,” will find articles with the subject accounts, health savings accounts or checking accounts. To run an exact subject search where only “accounts” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain additional terms, search using EXACT.

SU.EXACT(accounts)

Volume

VO

VO(100)

Use to search for the volume of a resource.