Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals: Basic Search

Definitive research tool for film and TV scholarship

Basic Search Tips

Search across all ProQuest platform databases with the Basic Search. Boolean, proximity, and field codes are supported. The default is to search for all of the terms entered. Separate terms with OR to find any of the terms.  To search for an exact phrase, use "quotation marks" around your search.

When running a search, the search default is set to Anywhere. Anywhere searches the full bibliographic record (all indexed fields) including the full text. Your organization's ProQuest administrator may have chosen to change the default to search Anywhere except full text (NOFT) instead. Anywhere except full text (NOFT) searches the full bibliographic record, but does NOT include a search of the full text. If this were the case, you will see a note above the search box stating this: You are searching all fields except full text.

Full text and Peer reviewed are limits that may appear in the Basic Search. The visibility of these limits are determined by your organization's ProQuest Administrator Module settings. Whether or not any of these are checked by default is also determined by your organization's ProQuest Administrator Module settings. Visit the ProQuest Administrator Module page to learn more. 

Checking the Full text limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records containing full text.

Checking the Peer reviewed limit will restrict your search to only search and retrieve records that are indexed in peer reviewed journals. Peer reviewed journals are a subset of scholarly journals and are defined as journals that undergo a review process where other experts (peers) in the field review the work before it is published in the journal. Peer reviewed journals are also commonly known as refereed journals.

Change your database selections by visiting the Databases link at the top of the page. This page lists out all the databases that your organization has access to through the ProQuest platform. You can choose multiple databases to cross-search too. 

You can also make database selections at the subject-level by clicking the Subject Icons under Search subject areas. The subject area icons have your ProQuest platform databases organized for you by subject areas so that you can quickly and easily search across your specific subject of choice. Through the ProQuest Admin Module your administrator has the ability to customize the groups and icons that display. 

Your administrator also has the option of turning on any databases that are on trial and displaying them for user access beneath the Search Subject areas. 

Basic Search

ProQuest Video: Basic Search