Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals: Searchable Fields

Definitive research tool for film and TV scholarship

FIAF Record Types

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database includes three types of documents:

  • Article Citations
  • Books Chapters
  • Film Records

The list of Search Fields on the right will explain to which of these Record Types each field applies.

More details on each of these Record Types in the Sample Content page

Additional information on these different sources can be found in the About box of the Home page.

See examples on how to search the different types of documents in the Sample Searches page

Thesaurus

The FIAF Thesaurus with more than 20,000 subject terms is used to classify the International Index to Film Periodicals. Subject terms are found in the subject field and this field is part of the searchable fields table to the right. Subject terms are also commonly known as descriptors, controlled vocabulary, and sometimes classification terms. Whenever they are also arranged hierarchically, they constitute a Thesaurus.

The thesaurus allows you to find subject terms to narrow or broaden your search and is available from the Advanced and Command Line Search. If you want to run a search on a subject, but you do not know what term to use, use the thesaurus to search the controlled vocabulary. A hierarchical display is available and will give suggestions on the appropriate subject terms to add to your search.

To use the thesaurus, select the Thesaurus link from the Advanced or Command Line Search, then browse or search for subjects containing the word or beginning with the word. Mark the items that you would like to search and then select the appropriate Boolean operator to combine your items. Click the Add to search button and your terms will be placed into the search form. From there, run your search to include the subject terms (adding additional search fields and terms if needed).

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals Database offers nine (9) Look ups (i.e., browsable indexes), so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or publication subject. You can find the Look up links in the Advanced Search page and they are available for the following searchable fields:

  • Authors
  • Cast
  • Companies/organizations
  • Countries
  • Directors
  • People
  • Production titles
  • Publications
  • Subject headings (all)

For a description of these fields, please see the Searchable Fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search page (through the Look up terms link located on the right side of the page).

To use and locate a Look up, select the field from the Advanced Search drop-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up (e.g., Look up Authors).  Look ups for Directors, People, Companies/organizations, Subject headings (all), are listed in the More search options section of the Advanced Search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field.  There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.  You may select multiple items by checking the box next to each, then selecting either the AND or the OR Boolean operator radio button prior to clicking the Search button.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Anywhere

 

Enter keyword(s) without a field code label to search the entire record

On the Advanced Search page, enter search terms or phrases, using “double quotation marks” for two or more word phrases and (parentheses) to nest, and select the “Anywhere” from drop-down menu to the right of the search box.

Anywhere except full text

ALL

ALL(sound)

ALL searches for keywords in the citation and abstract. It is a full record search and will retrieve results with full-text articles, but does not include a search of the text of the articles.

Abstract

AB

AB(music track)

Doesn’t apply to Film records.

Author

AU

AU.Exact("Parsons, James" OR "Parsons, J")

Use to find documents written by a particular author.  Doesn’t apply to the Film records

Names may be entered as Last Name, First Name or as First Name Last Name, when not using the Exact search: AU(james parsons). 

Use the “Look up Authors” list to find the correct spelling and format of an author’s name.

Cast

CAST

Cast.Exact("Pickford, Mary")

Searches the name of the Actor (Cast>Name)

Applies only to the Film records

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Companies/Organizations

ORG

Org("Mary Pickford Co.")

Production company - Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Country of Publication

   CP

CP("United States" OR "United States Of America")

Use this field to focus the search for the Country of the Publication. Doesn’t apply to the Film records.

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Document Feature

DF

DF(Photograph)

Use to search for features within an article: cartoon, charts, diagrams, graphs, illustrations, maps,  photographs, references,  tables. (Note: Articles always appear in the viewer starting on the first page of the article, yet the document feature searched for may be on a following page, so use the page navigation in the toolbar to ‘turn’ the pages.)

Doesn’t apply  to the Film records

Director

DIRECTOR

Director.Exact("Coppola, Sofia")

Director.Exact("Griffith, David Wark" OR "Griffith, D W")

Search the name of the film Director.

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Document Note

NT

NT(Archive)

NT(DVD)

Search the Document Note of the Film records. Includes the Archive and  Access holdings information..

Applies to the Film records

Document Number

AN

AN(1040465272)

Searches the ProQuest document ID.

Document Type

DType

DType(Film)

DType(Review)

DType(Book)

Use this to find specific document types: article, back matter, book, chapter, correspondence, editorial, feature, film, front matter, front page/cover story, general information, interview, news, obituary, poem, review, statistics/data report, table of contents, and several more.

Combine the document type with additional search term for more refined results.

The DocType Film applies only to the Film records of The Treasures,

The DocTypes Book and Chapter apply to the 5 key reference volumes.

All the other definitions apply to the Periodicals

Document Text

FT

FT(“Sun Records”)

Search for keywords in the body of the article.

Doesn’t apply to the Film records

Document Title

TI

TI(Cabiria)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article or the film or locates the title in its entirety.

ISSN

ISSN

ISSN(00286362)

Use this field to search by a publication's assigned International  Standard Serial Number (ISSN). Note that not all publications have an ISSN. 

Doesn’t apply to the Film records.

Issue

ISS

ISS(16)

Use to search the issue number of a resource. Use in combination with a Volume (VO) search for more specificity.  Doesn’t apply to the Film records.

Language

LA

La(French)

Search for the Language of the article. The Language of the Film records is always English

Location - subject

LOC

Loc("Spain")

Use to search for the Country as subject of the article.  

Doesn’t apply to the Film records.

MAINSUBJECT

MAINSUBJECT.EXACT

MAINSUBJECT.EXACT(yoga)

This field can only be searched if the database has a thesaurus. The prefix MAINSUBJECT will be added to your search when you select the term from the Thesaurus or if you type the mnemonic. MAINSUBJECT is a way to limit to the subject heading originating from the thesaurus and does not include the use of terms coming from the location index, person index, company index or other classification terms. To search on terms that incorporate all of these subject and index terms, please use the Subject Heading field (SU).

Production Details

NT

NT(“Fritz Lang”)

Searches the Production Details field, which contains the Production Title, the Country,Year of Release.  In the Film records contains also the Director Name,

Applies to Film records and Scholarly Journals from the FIAF Index.

Person

PER

Per("Almodovar, Pedro")

In this database this field includes all the fields with individual persons names: Cast, Director, Producer.

Applies to all types of records.

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Pages

PG

PG(6)

PG(4-10)

Searches for the specific page or page range.  Doesn’t apply to the Film records.

Producer

PRODUCER

Producer(Griffith)

Searches the name of individual producer.

Applies only to the Film records.

Production Title

PTI

PTI(Cabiria)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the film or the entire title.

Applies to all types of records.

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the title

Publication Date

PD

PD(Dec 17, 1969)

PD(Dec)

Use this field to search for dates of publication of articles/books, or the dates of films release. 

Publication Subject

JSU

JSU(“Motion Pictures”)

There are assigned publication subjects that are searchable in this database: Applied Arts, Black Studies, Communications, Communication--Radio, Communications--Television and Cable, Ethnic Interests, Motion Pictures, Theater.

Doesn’t apply to the Film records

Publication Title

PUB

PUB(Variety)

This database indexes around 350 publications. Use this field to focus the search on a specific title.

The Pub Title 'Treasures from the Film Archives' applies exclusively to all the Film records

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the title

Publication Year

PY

PY(1978)

PY (1914-1951)

Use a single year or series of years (separated by a hyphen) to search for every issue published during that year or that course of years or the films released during that year or that course of years..

Source Type

STYPE

Stype(Artistic & Aesthetic Works)

Use this to find specific source types. The following types are covered: Artistic & Aesthetic Works‎, Books‎, Magazines‎, Newspapers‎, Scholarly Journals‎, Trade Journals‎

Search for Artistic & Aesthetic Works to retrieve only the Film records from the Treasures.

The Source Type Books applies to the chapters of the 5 key reference volumes.

Subject headings (all)

SU

SU.Exact("costume films")

Use the subject search field to look for a specific subject. A search for the subject heading “costume”, will find films with the subjects-- costumes, costume film, costume design, etc. To run an exact subject search where only “costume films” is retrieved and not subject terms that contain alternative terms, search using EXACT. Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the subject terms

Doesn’t apply to the Film records

Title

TI

TI(“Cabiria”)

Locates the occurrence of search words in the title of the article or film or the entire title.  Applies to all types of records.

Volume

VO

VO(14)

Use to search for the volume of a resource.  Use in combination with an Issue (ISS) search for more specificity.   Doesn’t apply to the Film records.

Year

YR

YR(1978)

YR(1914-1951)

Use a single year or series of years (separated by a hyphen) to search for all the articles published in those years or films released during that year or that course of years.