Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides home

Film Index International (FII) : Searchable Fields

Definitive online filmography

FII Record Types

Film Index International includes two types of documents:

  • Film Records - contain detailed film information including the director, full cast and crew lists, year of release and production information. Credits, awards and a synopsis are also included. .
  • Person Records - Person records include complete biographical information, a list of Awards received, plus a complete list of the films the subject featured in.

The list of Search Fields on the right will explain to which of these Record Types each field applies.

More details on either Record Types in the Sample Content page

Look Ups and Browsable Indexes

Film Index International (FII) offers eight (8) Look ups (i.e., browsable indexes), so you can easily find spelling or format variations of, for example, an author's name or publication subject. You can find the Look up links in the Advanced Search page and they are available for the following searchable fields:

  • Cast
  • Characters
  • Companies/organizations
  • Countries
  • Crew
  • Directors
  • People
  • Production titles

For a description of these fields, please see the Searchable Fields table to the right. 

Note: Look ups are also available from the Command Line search page (through the Look up terms link located on the right side of the page).

To use and locate a Look up, select the field from the Advanced Search drop-down menu. If a Look up is available, under the search row you will see a link to the Look up (e.g., Look up Authors).  Look ups for Cast, Company/organization, Crew, Director, Subject headings, are listed in the More search options section of the Advanced Search page.

Select the Look up link and then you will see a browsable and alphabetical index for that field.  There are some indexes that will not display an alphabetical list before searching for the term, rather you will have to enter a term first, and then the alphabetical list of matches will display.

Once you locate the index term that you would like to add to your search, mark the item, and then click the Add to search button. The index term will now appear in the advanced search form along with the appropriate pull-down menu selection.  You may select multiple items by checking the box next to each, then selecting either the AND or the OR Boolean operator radio button prior to clicking the Search button.

Search Limiters

Use the ABANY limiter to single out the Documents containing a Synopsis. Add ABANY(yes) in one of the Advanced Search boxes, or add it to the search using the link "Search within" in the Results page. Combine it with an AND to the main search to include only Film records with a Synopsis.

Searchable Fields

Field Name

Label

Search Examples & Explanation

Abstract (Synopsis)

AB

AB(Forest Of Arden)

The Abstract field contains the film’s Synopsis. Applies only to the Film records.

Anywhere

 

Enter keyword(s) without a field code label to search the entire record

On the Advanced Search page, enter search terms or phrases, using “double quotation marks” for two or more word phrases and (parentheses) to nest, and select the “Anywhere” from drop-down menu to the right of the search box.

Cast

CAST

Cast("REDGRAVE, Vanessa")

Searches the name of the Actor (Cast>Name). Applies only to the Film records.

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Character

CHR

Chr.Exact("Ruth Wilcox")

Searches the name of Character (Cast>Role). Applies only to the Film records.

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Companies/Organizations

ORG

Org("Merchant Ivory Productions Ltd")

Production company - Applies only to the Film records.

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Country of Publication

CP

CP("Great Britain")

Use this field to focus the search on movies produced in a specific Country.

Country of Production. Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Crew

CREW

Crew("Forster, E M")

Searches the name of a Crew member (Credits >Name).

Applies only to the Film records.

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Director

DIRECTOR

Director.Exact("IVORY, James")

Search the name of the film Director. Applies only to the Film records.

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Document Number

AN

AN(1745757905)

Searches the ProQuest document ID.

Document Type

DType

DType(Film)

2 types of Documents are indexed in this database: Film and Person – this second one includes data on People or Organizations.

Language

LA

La(English)

Language is always English.

Location (as subject)

LOC

Loc("Great Britain")

Use to search for the location of the film.  Applies only to the Film records.

Can be a country and a region or a town. There can be more than one location in the same film.

Notes

NT

NT(Variety)

NT(Married n/5 Vivien n/1 Leigh)

NT(Playwright)

NT(awards n/5 baftas)

Use this to search the display fields:  Activity, Biographical Note in the Person records; Production details (incl awards) – Credits > Credit - Supplemental data (magazine reviews), in both types of records

Person

PER

Per(Ismail MERCHANT)

In this database this field includes all the fields with single persons names: Cast, Crew, Director, Producer.

Don't use Exact, double quotes or punctuation with this field

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the name

Producer

PRODUCER

Producer("MERCHANT, Ismail")

Searches the name of individual producer. Applies only to the Film records.

Production Title

PTI

PTI(“HOWARDS END”)

Locates the occurrence of search terms in the title of the film or the entire title.

Use the look up list if uncertain of the format of the title

Publication Date

PD

PD(April 22, 1991)

PD(April)

Use this field to search for dates of World release. 

Publication Subject

JSU

JSU(“Motion Pictures”)

In this database the Publication Subject is always Motion Pictures.

Publication Title

PUB

Pub("Film Index International")

2 names are used in this field: Film Index International for the Film document type, and Film Index International - People and Institutions for the Person document type

Publication Year

PY

PY(1991)

PY(1914-1951)

Use a single year or series of years (separated by a hyphen) to search for all the films released during that year or that course of years.

Source Type

STYPE

Stype(Artistic & Aesthetic Works)

2 definitions are used in this field: Artistic & Aesthetic Work, related to the Film document type, and Encyclopedias & Reference Works, related to the Person document type

Title

TI

TI(“HOWARDS END”)

TI(Sir Laurence OLIVIER)

Locates the occurrence of search terms in the title of the film or the entire title, in the Film records. Searches the name of the individual or organization, in the Person records. Includes the Alternate Title in the Person records.

Year

YR

YR(1991)

YR(1914-1951)

Use a single year or series of years (separated by a hyphen) to search for all the films released during that year or that course of years.