Skip to main content
ProQuest LogoProQuest LibGuides homeProQuest LibGuides homeAbout your ProQuest LibGuides CreatorsSee our listing of webinarsUsing or Re-using our guidesImage Map

British Nursing Index with Full Text: About

A guide to all aspects of British Nursing Index with Full Text including content, searching and viewing results on the ProQuest Platform.

Subject Coverage

Subjects covered in British Nursing Index with Full Text include:

  • Genetics
  • Dermatology and Venerology
  • Dietetics
  • Drug Abuse and Alcoholism
  • Forensic Sciences
  • Geriatrics
  • Gerontology
  • Medical Law
  • Neurology
  • Nursing
  • Nutrition
  • Obstetrics and Gynecology
  • Oncology
  • Occupation and Careers
  • Pediatrics
  • Epidemiology
  • Psychiatry
  • Psychology
  • Public Health and Safety
  • Social Service and Welfare
  • Special Education and Rehabilitation

Publication Types

  • Scholarly Journals
  • Peer Reviewed Journals

What British Nursing Index with Full Text?

British Nursing Index Full Text offers a full-text counterpart to British Nursing Index adding further value to this already impressive database, a leading bibliographic database supporting the practice, education, and research for nurses, midwives, and health providers in the greater nursing community.

It focuses on titles published in the UK, Australia and Canada, plus a selection of important international nursing titles. Around 56 % of the titles are published in the UK and Commonwealth countries. Circa 700 nursing publications are editorially indexed using the world-class British Nursing Index thesaurus, and more than 200 of these titles are available in full text. BNI Full Text boasts it's very own Thesaurus, an essential tool for homing in on content focussed on the UK. For further information about the thesaurus please see the searchable fields section of this guide.

This database is designed to serve a wide range of people who need health information – from nurses to medical professionals to hospital administrators to consumers and can be cross-searched with other relevant Full Text Nursing databases such as ProQuest Nursing & Allied Health Source. Titles are selected from quality lists such as Core Collection, Brandon Hill, Florida State and Impact Factors.

Selection Policy

BNI provides access to the most current literature making records of UK titles available within one month of publication

Some key titles include:

  • Australian Journal of Advanced Nursing
  • Australian Nursing Journal
  • British Journal of Midwifery
  • British Journal of Nursing
  • British Medical Journal
  • Canadian Nurse
  • Evidence - Based Nursing
  • Journal of Advanced Nursing
  • Journal of Palliative Care
  • Journal of the Royal Society of Medicine
  • Nursing Standard
  • Nursing Times

For a full list, please see the publication coverage box on the right hand side of the page.

ProQuest Platform Videos

Publication Coverage

To view the latest title list and publication coverage, please visit: